Author Topic: Campaign Mode Idea.  (Read 1436 times)

Offline Mistercharles

• Veteran
  • +
Campaign Mode Idea.
« on: February 23, 2007, 01:58:45 pm »
I have a new, plausable idea for a campaign mode with many map-specific objective possibilities. I'm sure that most (if not all of) the script is possible for soldat's scripting language, however much of it would be a pain to code. It would be intended for online play, as 1) it requires the scripting language, and 2) some objectives would be much easier with a squad as apposed to a one-man team. The reason why I'm not making this right now is that I have no experience with the delphi language. Here's the constraints needed for this gamemode:

First off, any human player that joins bravo is sent to alpha, unless they are /setteam2'd.

Second, if the ending of the round wasn't caused by alpha's team score maxing out, the map will restart. If alpha did indeed reach max score, then the next map on the list is chosen. Note, that even if alpha wins, if they don't reach max score, the map will still restart. This may be difficult to code, because it occurs at the end of a map, and the maplist will shift instead of staying at the current map.

Third, depending on the map, at the beginning of a round, the time limit and point limit will change, along with six more invented variables, ie:
if currentmap == 'inf_cpMC1wf2' then
limit = 50
timelimit = 7
charlieflagr = 2
deltaflagr = 0
charliemethd = 1
deltamethd = 0
charliebot = 'boogie man'
deltabot = 'admiral'
endif

I know that's bogus code, but it gets the point across. These map-specifics would be bundeled with the script, otherwise this would be impossible.

Fourth, if a player comes within proximity to a rambo spawnpoint or a pointmatchflag spawnpoint, something will happen depending on the map-specific variables. These are the charliemethd or deltamethd possibilities:

not used- 0
captured bravo flag- 1
scored bravo flag- 2