Author Topic: Set Player Position (X,Y)  (Read 2589 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aquarius

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 234
Set Player Position (X,Y)
« on: May 01, 2007, 12:13:44 am »
Is there a method to change player position on the map? I have seen on enesce.com EnEsCe did a script to save & load player position, but it's not in scripting manual.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2007, 12:16:51 am by Aquarius »

Offline EnEsCe

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 3101
  • http://enesce.com/
    • [eC] Official Website
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2007, 12:18:16 am »
No, there is not a function for that. Its just apart of my personal script.

Offline zooc

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2007, 05:29:12 am »
lies all lies dear Enesce!

this baby will move our gostek a little to right
Code: [Select]
function OnPlayerCommand(ID: Byte; Text: string): boolean;
begin
  if Text = '/move' then  MovePlayer(ID,GetPlayerStat(ID,'X')+50, GetPlayerStat(ID,'Y') );
  Result := false;
end;

Offline EnEsCe

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 3101
  • http://enesce.com/
    • [eC] Official Website
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2007, 05:33:08 am »
Wont be there in the next version hunny buns

Offline zooc

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2007, 05:40:33 am »
hey my sweet apple pie!
you want to keep all good things only for yourself?

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2007, 04:31:02 pm »
Quote
Its just apart of my personal script.
How could you keep such a thing away from the public? Thats just pure selfish. Seriously... with such a major thing like this, how could you?! This makes me really sad man.

Offline Aquarius

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 234
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2007, 01:56:09 am »
Thanks qz

Wont be there in the next version hunny buns
Then I'm not going to use the next version... Could you explain why do you want to keep it for yourself?

Date Posted: 02-05-2007, 08:58:18
In Pre-Release 2.6.1 MovePlayer doesn't work...
Could you explain EnEsCe why do you keep this function for your servers and ban it for others?
« Last Edit: May 09, 2007, 02:03:52 am by Aquarius »

Offline Avarax

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1529
    • Official Hexer & MMod site
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2007, 04:38:18 am »
indeed, i really need MovePlayer for my script, but i also need 2.6.1's working WriteFile
I like to have one Martini
Two at the very most
Three I'm under the table
Four I'm under the host

Offline zooc

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 12
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2007, 12:24:18 pm »
it just shows what kind of person Enesce is,
no comments from me.

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2007, 08:10:03 pm »
In Pre-Release 2.6.1 MovePlayer doesn't work...
Could you explain EnEsCe why do you keep this function for your servers and ban it for others?

pure selfishness... thats why.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5037
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2007, 08:50:40 pm »
Honestly, I do think it is pure selfishness.
But EnEsCe did say that creating a script that does what his airstrikes script for his trenchwar server is possible:

Quote from: msn chatlog
(11:15:08 PM) Joe: and you're not going to post the source code for the script that does this are you?
(11:15:13 PM) EnEsCe: nope
(11:15:19 PM) Joe: thats what I thought
(11:15:27 PM) EnEsCe: gotta keep my server unique :)
(11:15:40 PM) Joe: but is it possible to create a script that does what yours does?
(11:15:43 PM) EnEsCe: yah

So, if someone other can EnEsCe can create a script that drops law rockets, then maybe creating an equivalent script that moves the player might also be possible?
There are other worlds than these

Offline Aquarius

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 234
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2007, 12:56:59 am »
So, if someone other can EnEsCe can create a script that drops law rockets, then maybe creating an equivalent script that moves the player might also be possible?

No, because EnEsCe probably compiled 2 versions of Soldat Dedicated Server - first version, *the better*, for him and second version, without some features like MovePlayer, for the rest of us.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2007, 01:02:19 am by Aquarius »

Offline Avarax

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1529
    • Official Hexer & MMod site
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2007, 03:02:49 am »
afaik he is going to put the bullet creating procedure into the dedicated server released along with 1.4.1
I like to have one Martini
Two at the very most
Three I'm under the table
Four I'm under the host

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2007, 03:38:51 pm »
EnEsCe, what the fuck?  You can't just have features to yourself and not release them like this.  If it was a script, sure... but you're talking about stuff built specifically into the server you use.

Offline Michal Marcinkowski

  • Creator of Soldat
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 808
  • I ain't got time to bleed.
    • Soldat home page
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2007, 05:00:40 pm »
We are adding a bunch of cool features in the server, but it won't be released until 1.4.1 is out. EnEsCe of course can run the new stuff now, cause nobody is gonna stop him, but for the rest please wait for the next version to come out.

Offline Will

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2007, 05:25:00 pm »
He could've atleast lie and say it was just testing on his server...

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2007, 05:25:59 pm »
He could've atleast lie and say it was just testing on his server...

that would have been telling the truth.  Lying is when he said "it won't be in the next version of the server"

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2007, 09:48:03 pm »
So, move player and bullet create in next version? its not in the help thing yet, i don't know what to put where... :(

and i highly suggust u add a "Respawn(ID: Byte);" procedure so that you don't have the _ has joined the game or whatever when you have Command('/setteam_ _'); to respawn them.

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: Set Player Position (X,Y)
« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2007, 01:11:06 pm »
Hey, in what next version is the move player going to be available? =/
It's sitll not in the help.
urraka