Author Topic: Network error...?  (Read 1872 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline `ampfx

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 11
  • The Pain, The Life, and the Hardship
Network error...?
« on: July 03, 2006, 08:30:09 pm »
Whenever I enter a game server, the screen stays blue for about 30 seconds, and then normalizes. However, in the chat box it says:

"Network: Invalid Host"
"SendBuffer error: selfkill.com:13073 cmp:1

Is this an internet problem? I don't know what happened, my Soldat was working perfectly yesterday┬  :-\
« Last Edit: July 03, 2006, 08:40:39 pm by `ampfx »

Offline Zamorak

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 475
Re: Network error...?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 08:35:19 pm »
I don't know how this was cause, but I think selfkil.com needs to be selfkill.com

check c:\soldat\lobby_servers.txt and make sure it's spelled correctly
ZamoraK |2Wai|

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6142
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Network error...?
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2006, 08:38:54 pm »
Their site doesn't seem to be resolving for me, seems to be a highlevel DNS problem.  Wait a day or two and revive this thread if the problem goes away.

... or if it is spelled wrong in the file, fix it there

Offline `ampfx

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 11
  • The Pain, The Life, and the Hardship
Re: Network error...?
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2006, 08:41:56 pm »
Well, I fixed the spelling and it still doesn't work  :-X

So I guess I'll let time take its course for now.

Offline MrNoob

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 3
Re: Network error...?
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2006, 08:51:56 pm »
I had same problem. In the txt file delete the selfkill.com and it'll work--

This equals repsect points ^^

Offline Headle$$

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 30
Re: Network error...?
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2006, 10:05:35 pm »
try reinstall my baby :O
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.

By my brother Albert Einstein

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6142
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Network error...?
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2006, 10:52:09 pm »
You can remove selfkill.com temporarily from lobby_servers.txt, though I highly reccomend you either put it back after a couple days, or don't remove it and just wait.

It appears they moved their DNS servers to another IP, and since this is a change at the top of their domain, it'll take up to two days for the changes to propagate (just like soldatforums.com did)

http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=1561.0
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=1553.0

I've sent an e-mail to MM alerting him to this new timeout issue. 
« Last Edit: July 04, 2006, 02:27:12 am by FliesLikeABrick »