Author Topic: bot choosing waypoints  (Read 1874 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline haha

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 298
  • soldier=soldat=game
bot choosing waypoints
« on: July 01, 2007, 07:21:50 pm »
i have a question...when u force a bot to choose which way to go...what do u put on the way point?
for example
A=way point
-= wall
                        2A
          1A        -------------------
                         2B
i want to way point from 1A to 2A and 2B, giving the bot the choice to choose which way he wants to go. however, which direction must i way point to do so? if i way point 1A to move up and right, there is no way he can go to 2B, and if i way point 1A to only go right, he cannot go to 2A...so what do i do?
Image removed, please read the forum rules.

Offline VijchtiDoodah

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
    • Stan Yeti Rave?
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2007, 07:50:56 pm »
Do both.  Make 1A target both 2A and 2B, then the bot will randomly choose between the two.

"“The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr”"

Offline spkka

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2007, 08:04:32 pm »
picks the closes one first i think.. tho in most cases but yea connect it to both

Offline haha

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 298
  • soldier=soldat=game
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2007, 03:31:30 am »
i know join both...but what do i put on the waypoint? if i put right and up, and the bot randomly chooses 2B, the bot wont make it there....and get stuck
Image removed, please read the forum rules.

Offline Keron Cyst

  • Global Moderator
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 2872
  • will waypoint for food
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2007, 11:48:33 am »
^ That's why the action on a waypoint directs waypoints BEHIND it on how to get to it.

Code: [Select]
A -> B
B is labeled Run Right, not A; A has no action.

And yes, spkka is correct. Try to space them out evenly, or else bots will tend to take the route with a closer wypt. (only more often, not all the time, unless they're right next to each other or something). See the article Pathing in my waypointing guide for more info.

Offline spkka

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2007, 01:07:54 pm »
yeah make sure you read that one... It isn´t that hard if you read that article!

Big ups for that keron cyst ;)

Offline haha

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 298
  • soldier=soldat=game
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2007, 02:22:40 am »
yeah yeah i read urs for a while, so the way points control the waypoint before that waypoint?
Image removed, please read the forum rules.

Offline Keron Cyst

  • Global Moderator
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 2872
  • will waypoint for food
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2007, 11:20:11 am »
Yeah. So your 2B would be Run Right, and to get to 2A you would set perhaps a Jump waypoint, then maybe a Fly if the distance is long enough, THEN Run Right... but A itself only has Run Right (to let bots from the left get to IT)

If you could take a screenshot of the area in question, I could map it out for you real quickly.

Offline haha

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 298
  • soldier=soldat=game
Re: bot choosing waypoints
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2007, 03:30:22 am »
yeah no need for screens, i get it now..lol i always thought the waypoint controlled that way point...not the waypoint b4...thx alot!
Image removed, please read the forum rules.