Author Topic: [SOLVED] Modifying default.txt glitches...  (Read 1145 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hootie hoo

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 291
  • "Noone" isn't a word.
[SOLVED] Modifying default.txt glitches...
« on: July 08, 2006, 12:37:54 am »
I've noticed that when you try to modify default.txt with notepad or wordpad, even just one word, all the text in the game is messed up. If shows the wrong text for buttons, etc. How do I get around this glitch OR what would be a simple text editor that would let me modify this file without disturbing the game?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2006, 07:04:34 pm by Hootie hoo »
Image removed please read the forum rules.

Offline numgun

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • Reactorcore
    • Eradication Wars - homepage
Re: Modifying default.txt glitches...
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2006, 12:42:59 am »
I've heard that its possible to do this through MS-DOS's text editor. (cant remeber how to get there tho...  :-\ )

Maybe if we should save it through another text format in the notepad?

If anyone knows: Please tell.

Offline Unlucky XIII

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 144
  • Unit Zero One Three
    • Member Since: 26 Jun 2004
Re: Modifying default.txt glitches...
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2006, 03:50:15 am »
I've heard that its possible to do this through MS-DOS's text editor. (cant remeber how to get there tho...  :-\ )
To get to the MS-DOS EDIT program, you have to go through the start bar to get to Run, then type "edit" in the box given. Make sure you save it as a different file name, save it in the Txt\Languages folder and then change the translation through Soldat's Config utility.

I have always had the same problem, but using EDIT usually doesn't have any problems.

"The old ones are the best"

Offline numgun

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1031
  • Reactorcore
    • Eradication Wars - homepage
Re: Modifying default.txt glitches...
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2006, 08:03:50 am »
maybe office's WORD?

any other than MS-dos? coz its frustrating thru it ;-(

Offline DeMo

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 127
  • Stay Metal! \m/
    • Encoder 2002
Re: Modifying default.txt glitches...
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2006, 09:07:35 am »
You can use NOTEPAD, just make sure the "automatic line breaking" option is turned OFF.

<@Evil-Ville> Expect a picture of Chakra` holding his fleshlight soon!