Author Topic: Armouries  (Read 4229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rambo_6

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 463
  • Banned
    • (Adam Whitby) What where you're freinds doing on my server earlier?!
Armouries
« on: July 09, 2006, 12:28:03 pm »
A simple idea. A placeable station (with the appripriate scenery-gfx) that allows you to swap weapons. Just drop your weapon then run to the armoury to activate the weapon menu again.

Could be a useful little idea, no?

Offline Eagles_Arrows

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1889
  • The Thread Killer
    • My Webcomic
Re: Armouries
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2006, 12:31:16 pm »
Starseige:Tribes?

Sounds like a good idea, meguesses.

"Sometimes it's a good day to die, sometimes it's a good day to have breakfast." - Smoke Signals

Offline Plonkoon

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1022
  • I know Karate!....and several other Japanese words
Re: Armouries
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2006, 12:44:31 pm »
This would make inf maps a lot more fun I think.

Offline BondJamesBond

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 986
    • http://tobylands.com
Re: Armouries
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2006, 01:34:40 pm »
I dont see the harm, There should only be 1 per map - and inconveniently placed
The computer is a moron.
?  - Peter Drucker

Offline MofoNofo

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1019
Re: Armouries
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2006, 01:40:33 pm »
I don't support or like this idea.

Offline Schweppes

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 24
  • [pzy]Schweppes
    • Schweppes and Justin
Re: Armouries
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2006, 02:04:35 pm »
I don't support or like this idea.

A reason for your dislike would definatly help :o?

I like this idea, but perhaps only for Infiltration, or Cature the flag. It wouldn't work well in DM matches I don't think...

Offline Twistkill

  • Inactive Staff
  • Flagrunner
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • The words of your tongue blister like fire
Re: Armouries
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2006, 02:10:14 pm »
I definately support this. Sometimes I want to change my weapon mid-battle and I don't want to be bothered by killing myself to spawn with a new weapon. It would also make weilding 2 primaries much easier. ;)

"A fool shows his annoyance at once, but a prudent man overlooks an insult." -Proverbs 12:16

Add me on PSN: Newfrag. Just make sure to tell me you're from SF. :P

Offline TDL

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 118
Re: Armouries
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2006, 02:28:37 pm »
I support.

I think INF atleast should have them.

Offline jettlarue

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 724
Re: Armouries
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2006, 03:05:55 pm »
why couldnt it just be a poly type? then you could have as many as a map needs and it wouldnt be plagued by only one type of map can have it.

Offline -Vis-

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 980
  • Zarch
Re: Armouries
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2006, 03:30:28 pm »
Hardly anyone would use secondaries anymore... snipers would keep having two barrets. People who like explosions would keep having two m79s... I think this is a bad idea... unless you can prevent choosing two primaries.


Offline Eagles_Arrows

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1889
  • The Thread Killer
    • My Webcomic
Re: Armouries
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2006, 03:47:02 pm »
Hardly anyone would use secondaries anymore... snipers would keep having two barrets. People who like explosions would keep having two m79s... I think this is a bad idea... unless you can prevent choosing two primaries.

Uhh.

I think he's saying that when you go to a stationpoint thing, the weapons menu will pop up again, allowing you to choose a different primary and secondary.

"Sometimes it's a good day to die, sometimes it's a good day to have breakfast." - Smoke Signals

Offline ds dude

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 631
  • Lolicon Forever.
Re: Armouries
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2006, 04:00:55 pm »
Supported. :)i like this idea and it would go great with inf.
This signature was borked. Now it is not.

Offline Captain Ben

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 358
  • "forum's-rebellious-cool-guy"
Re: Armouries
« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2006, 05:57:50 pm »
Hardly anyone would use secondaries anymore... snipers would keep having two barrets. People who like explosions would keep having two m79s... I think this is a bad idea... unless you can prevent choosing two primaries.

Uhh.

I think he's saying that when you go to a stationpoint thing, the weapons menu will pop up again, allowing you to choose a different primary and secondary.

But what's to stop a player dropping their primary, getting another gun andn then picking up their original?

Offline Eagles_Arrows

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1889
  • The Thread Killer
    • My Webcomic
Re: Armouries
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2006, 06:06:25 pm »
Hardly anyone would use secondaries anymore... snipers would keep having two barrets. People who like explosions would keep having two m79s... I think this is a bad idea... unless you can prevent choosing two primaries.

Uhh.

I think he's saying that when you go to a stationpoint thing, the weapons menu will pop up again, allowing you to choose a different primary and secondary.

But what's to stop a player dropping their primary, getting another gun andn then picking up their original?

Hmm.  You got a point there...

"Sometimes it's a good day to die, sometimes it's a good day to have breakfast." - Smoke Signals

Offline R@NDOM

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 157
  • Banned
Re: Armouries
« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2006, 06:37:35 pm »
You may only use the weapon station once per battle? And you must be holding a primary?

Offline Schweppes

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 24
  • [pzy]Schweppes
    • Schweppes and Justin
Re: Armouries
« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2006, 07:11:09 pm »
You may only use the weapon station once per battle? And you must be holding a primary?

I don't know about once per battle, but holding a primary sounds like a good idea.

Offline VijchtiDoodah

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
    • Stan Yeti Rave?
Re: Armouries
« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2006, 07:26:01 pm »
It might be nice as a way to get one step closer to single-player campaigns, but other than that I don't really see people having the time to use one in the middle of the game -- even in slower r/s servers.

"“The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr”"

Offline RabidTreeFrog

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 291
Re: Armouries
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2006, 08:16:03 pm »
This seems like a good idea, but the two barret and m79 idea ruins it.

Maybe it would prevent picking the same weapon you have?

Ex- Me carrying a minimini and Socom. I drop Socom. I go to armoury.
      I can't choose a minimini.
      Problem=Solved?
not around

Offline viggoloniggolo

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 364
  • maplord
    • Soldat Mappers League
Re: Armouries
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2006, 08:18:01 pm »
good idea, what about starting without weapons and reaching the point so you get your weapons?

Offline VijchtiDoodah

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
    • Stan Yeti Rave?
Re: Armouries
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2006, 08:34:01 pm »
Yes...because we all love one-sided games where the enemy controls the weapons and you can't get any.

"“The ink of the scholar is more sacred than the blood of the martyr”"

Offline Hootie hoo

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 291
  • "Noone" isn't a word.
Re: Armouries
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2006, 08:39:17 pm »
This is a good idea, but would spawn some 'noob' attacks, such as barret, then minigun. Maybe a health or grenade sacrifice would be required?
Other than that, this sounds great. I support it. =D
Image removed please read the forum rules.

Offline Sotija

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1053
  • Sotija
Re: Armouries
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2006, 10:51:39 pm »
I love the idea :).Its very cool idea

Offline Rambo_6

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 463
  • Banned
    • (Adam Whitby) What where you're freinds doing on my server earlier?!
Re: Armouries
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2006, 11:28:48 pm »
Quote from: Hootie Hoo
Maybe a health or grenade sacrifice would be required?

"You just took a new SPAS-12, GIVE ME HALF OF YOUR HEALTH".

I think having one of these on large maps like ctf_run (you could place it where the stationary gun is) would be relaly cool. It'd kind of create a point of interest that attracts more players. It'd make soldat maybe more strategical in the sense that holding that armoury is crucial to a good defence/offence.

Offline Sotija

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1053
  • Sotija
Re: Armouries
« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2006, 11:32:58 pm »
I think its good to RS too.But it have already waepons?

Offline Rambo_6

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 463
  • Banned
    • (Adam Whitby) What where you're freinds doing on my server earlier?!
Re: Armouries
« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2006, 11:35:22 pm »
Oh, another small idea for the whole armoury thing.

There could be an option allowing the admin to choose what guns the armoury offers. You could make it so that armouries only have secondary weapons, or just disable the barret/m79 from them...

Offline Nightcrawler

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • www.aussoldat.com
Re: Armouries
« Reply #25 on: July 10, 2006, 12:54:27 am »
I think in TrenchWars this would be ok, but otherwise, no.
I rule.
IGN: vK:\\ Deadpool


Offline T-Bone

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 895
  • Harmonicas Suck
Re: Armouries
« Reply #26 on: July 10, 2006, 01:57:46 am »
i like this idea, but if it was used, there would def. need to be alot of map layout planning, so there is no unfair advantage on either team
Your acting like your having a duel and your opponent gets a pistol and you get a spork.
Isn't that pretty much what it is? I dunno wtf a spork is, I suppose it's way weaker than the pistol since you compared that to this.

Offline R@NDOM

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 157
  • Banned
Re: Armouries
« Reply #27 on: July 10, 2006, 02:00:46 am »
How long will this take to program? Think about that, MM stated in the 2005 interview that bugs come first.

Offline Fluffy

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: Armouries
« Reply #28 on: July 10, 2006, 09:42:16 am »
I don't think it would take long to program, though MM sucks in coding.

The dualwielding problem could be solved by making the weapon you've thrown (before going to the armory thingie) disappear after you've selected a new one. Of course, if you're already wielding weapon/weapons, they would also disappear to make space for the new ones.

Long live Nazi-Communism!

Offline System Decay

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 13
Re: Armouries
« Reply #29 on: July 10, 2006, 11:52:57 am »
I don't support, you're suppose to pick a weapon that will be good in your battle situation and look at what your little soldat buddies pick so you can have a balance of autos, rugers, spas and snipers. to me it would make everyone act more on their own than they already do :P and while I want ideas to make this game more tactical having this wouldn't thrill me.
Hell if it is implied make it an option or something but don't ruin RS Ctf plz.

Offline Will

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
Re: Armouries
« Reply #30 on: July 10, 2006, 12:14:02 pm »
I think that armory should be activated with a  certain key (eg. caps lock) and then your player automatically drops weapons on a special polygon that weapons dissapear on and then u get the weapons menu

Offline Zegovia

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 590
  • Blow like a storm, burst like steam.
Re: Armouries
« Reply #31 on: July 10, 2006, 04:14:57 pm »
Sounds pretty nifty...

How about that when you change your weapon at the weapon stand, you replace it with the weapon your holding, and ONLY for PRIMARYS!!!

So people wont start shooting of a law, and then pick a new one at the stand.....

Offline Nicholas

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 43
Re: Armouries
« Reply #32 on: July 10, 2006, 07:22:51 pm »
I don't think it would take long to program, though MM sucks in coding.
I'm sure he thanks you for your kind words.

Offline iDante

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Armouries
« Reply #33 on: July 10, 2006, 07:35:41 pm »
Instead of dropping your gun just hold on to it. The station detects if you are carrying a primary and if you are then it will swap that out. Trading your secondarys shouldnt work.

Offline T-Bone

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 895
  • Harmonicas Suck
Re: Armouries
« Reply #34 on: July 10, 2006, 08:14:58 pm »
i dont see why people are opposed to this, i like this idea. I will sometimes pick a gun on accident(i dont know why i do it sometimes), then ill have to /kill to get the one i wanted. :(
Your acting like your having a duel and your opponent gets a pistol and you get a spork.
Isn't that pretty much what it is? I dunno wtf a spork is, I suppose it's way weaker than the pistol since you compared that to this.

Offline Stroganoff

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 2
Re: Armouries
« Reply #35 on: July 11, 2006, 03:57:18 pm »
I like the idea, if you accidentally chose the wrong wepon, you can change it without having to kill yourself.  You can chose whatever weapon you want anyway, so i dont see the harm in something like this.

Offline jettlarue

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 724
Re: Armouries
« Reply #36 on: July 11, 2006, 04:02:27 pm »
I don't think it would take long to program, though MM sucks in coding.
I'm sure he thanks you for your kind words.
when he started soldat he wasnt the best but now he is great. and yeah i want armouries.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5018
Re: Armouries
« Reply #37 on: July 11, 2006, 04:17:51 pm »
I like this idea alot.

But it take too much to work, and will probably never be implemented. :-\
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline Shadow G-Unit

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • IRC: S[Ex]eh-Legend
    • Fractured Forums
Re: Armouries
« Reply #38 on: July 11, 2006, 04:27:33 pm »
Great Idea! How about..you tell that to Michal Marcinkowski.


Ingame: King Legend.10- | Clan: In10sitY | Prev. Clan: OXiD | M79 Slag

Offline brother in arms

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 14
Re: Armouries
« Reply #39 on: July 11, 2006, 06:29:08 pm »
yes, gr8 idea i think may of lost your weapon knocking someone out with your fists and need to get another weapon :P

Offline H31MU7

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • BOOM HEADSHOT!!!
Re: Armouries
« Reply #40 on: July 12, 2006, 07:49:21 am »
Hardly anyone would use secondaries anymore... snipers would keep having two barrets. People who like explosions would keep having two m79s... I think this is a bad idea... unless you can prevent choosing two primaries.

Uhh.

I think he's saying that when you go to a stationpoint thing, the weapons menu will pop up again, allowing you to choose a different primary and secondary.
Yeah but if they drop the guns outside the go back out and drop secondary and replace with there old primary.
If there was a way to prevent it be asweseome. Though that doesn't effect my thoughts I love the idea.

Offline Candyman

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 6
  • Sniper
Re: Armouries
« Reply #41 on: July 13, 2006, 12:18:27 am »
The solution is simple (it requires MM's programming, sure):

You enter the armoury, and you automatically lose your weapons, as if you just respawned unarmed. Weapons menu pops up.

Then you get to select your new (or previous) weapons, both primary and secondary. There would be no "two primaries" selected, the same way you cannot select two primaries when you respawn after killed.

Besides, if you dropped your gun before entering the armoury, that one could dissapear (so you don't stack a pile of weapons just outside it, just to go back an select new ones to stack).

I like this idea, but only in team maps like inf or ctf.
[candyman]²

Offline Rambo_6

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 463
  • Banned
    • (Adam Whitby) What where you're freinds doing on my server earlier?!
Re: Armouries
« Reply #42 on: July 13, 2006, 05:55:48 am »
I think Candyman's idea is the most suitable one i've seen so far.