Author Topic: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script  (Read 17145 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #40 on: November 22, 2007, 11:15:48 pm »
Script updated. Doesn't use ThreadFunc anymore (got tired of bugs), so now it has a time resolution of 1 second. It's still fun. If someday something like timers are added to the engine I'll make the script better. The race.ini now is located in ./scripts/perrorace/race.ini. Saving the map doesn't make extra ini's since WriteFile is working fine (I must have done something wrong before). And that's it.
Also, the code is MUCH cleaner than the previous version.

PerroRACE 2.0.zip
urraka

Offline Londonbrig0

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 38
  • despite my experience, I'm a noob, deal with it
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #41 on: December 15, 2007, 12:22:53 am »
wow, very cool, starting to make soldat like all those insane starcraft mods
I could have sworn I had something witty to put here...

Offline Norbo

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #42 on: December 15, 2007, 11:07:40 am »
First of all you must download the dedicated server, which you can downlaod >here< (it's not the one that comes with soldat)

Then, you unzip that somewhere and unzip PerroRACE.zip in the same somewhere.

You can edit the file soldat.ini to set the server options, but it's not really necessary.

If the race won't start use the command "/recompile race". That will reload the script. Other than that use the commands I posted in the first post. Remember that you have to use some of the maps I included (rc_Airpirates, rc_Bigfalls, rc_Arena) or set the checkpoints on your own if you want to play in another map.

Done... But how can i join it? Whats the IP etc...
EDIT: Problem solved :) Just playing it! Cool!

Date Posted: December 15, 2007, 09:19:20 am
I dont get how to add maps....

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #43 on: December 15, 2007, 11:08:50 am »
To add your own maps or to add maps to the mapslist?
urraka

Offline Norbo

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #44 on: December 15, 2007, 12:23:35 pm »
.... create a map with chekpoints.... does the scenery adds itself or u need to make a map in polyworks? i mean that Checkpoint scenery and the arrorws

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #45 on: December 15, 2007, 02:01:28 pm »
The scenery must be added by a map editor. I can't add scnecery from the script. So use polyworks for that.
urraka

Offline happytodd

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 48
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #46 on: December 28, 2007, 05:34:52 am »
How do you actually set it up? Do you run it as a deathmatch mode?
And where do you put the race file?

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #47 on: December 28, 2007, 12:31:16 pm »
First read this if you haven't: http://forums.soldat.pl/index.php?topic=20940.msg252844#msg252844

And use deathmatch yeah. I also disable all weapons. And set respawn time to zero.
urraka

Offline happytodd

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 48
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #48 on: December 28, 2007, 10:05:34 pm »
Ok Ive set it up all correctly I believe but when I run the server I get this error:

RACE : Can't find map checkpoints.
  • [Error] Perrorance -> <AppOnIdle>: I/O error 103


Anyone know how to solve it :(

Date Posted: December 28, 2007, 09:55:46 pm
I think its because I have the race.ini file in the wrong area. Where do you actually put it. I tried it in the map area. In the scripts and in soldatserver263 directory. This gets abit confusing

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #49 on: December 29, 2007, 01:27:47 am »
You don't need to move the race.ini file. Try renaming Perrorance to perrorace maybe.
urraka

Offline happytodd

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 48
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #50 on: December 29, 2007, 02:17:06 am »
So where is the race.ini file ment to be located?
I tried renaming perrorance to perrorace but I get the same error.

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #51 on: December 29, 2007, 07:01:29 am »
It should be right here: ./scripts/perrorace/race.ini
It may also happen because of a problem with some linux distributions, what OS are you using? If that's the case I'll try to fix the error. I also don't know much about this, but it also could be because of the file not having the proper access rights. It should be readable and writable by the soldatserver. Maybe somebody else with more experience on this can help a bit.
urraka

Offline spkka

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #52 on: December 29, 2007, 07:06:06 am »
File exist does not seem to work on Debian if im right. Check my Nick Registration script aswell..
It works on CentOS - SUSE and windows but failed by 1 person that´s using Debian.

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #53 on: December 29, 2007, 07:08:47 am »
Yes, I'm aware of that, but I think my script isn't using FileExists. I'm checking.
urraka

Offline spkka

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 469
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #54 on: December 29, 2007, 07:14:03 am »
check if it uses things like readfile <> '' or anything, it gave me this error before I/O Error 103..
Try to use File Exist instead then. Let me know if you found a fix please. Would be nice to have the scripts working on all Distros



Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #55 on: December 29, 2007, 07:21:35 am »
I've just checked and this scripts doesn't check for file existence at all, so it must something with access rights.
urraka

Offline happytodd

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 48
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #56 on: December 29, 2007, 08:39:30 am »
Ok now Im just getting this error

RACE: Cant find map checkpoints.

And thats pretty much it no 103 error etc. Its all set up like its ment too..

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #57 on: December 29, 2007, 12:16:57 pm »
Well, that means you are playing on a map that doesn't have checkpoints. You should play in the maps attached in the first post.
urraka

Offline happytodd

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 48
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #58 on: December 29, 2007, 09:41:23 pm »
Yes thanks so much its all working now.
Now I need to try fix my ports up etc so I can actually host it for Australians :D
It seems like you've done a great job!

Offline Szewczuq

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 115
  • WOOH! ROCKS ON MY HEAD!
    • POLISH GAMERS COMMUNITY
Re: PerroRACE 2.0 - very cool Racing script
« Reply #59 on: December 30, 2007, 01:16:11 pm »
haha nice job  PerroAZUL :P can i have ip to sevrer with this script? :D

Date Posted: December 30, 2007, 01:14:16 pm
Perro? maybe u can change this script to Team run (ctf) ect. 2v2 run or 3v3? ;D