Author Topic: Problem after the first change of a map  (Read 2723 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vector

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 11
Problem after the first change of a map
« on: July 17, 2006, 09:33:53 am »
Server 2.5.1.
os: Alt Linux
ip: 217.195.210.74
port: default

At start soldat server all is normal.
After change of a map vanish bonuses. The parachute runs behind the character. The players disappear and occur in different places. Sometimes throws out from game and requires downloaded a map. Thus downloads does not work. (all map is default, ports like are open) Not I can to understand in what trouble.

I am sorry for mine English. Plz help.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2006, 04:15:58 am by vector »

Offline chrisgbk

  • Inactive Staff
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1739
Re: Problem after the first change of a map
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2006, 02:00:50 pm »
The server was unable to properly load the next map. Most often, this is caused by one of the following:

1) The map listed in the mapslist doesn't physically exist, OR it is not spelt with the correct capitalization. CaSe SeNsItiVe

2) The map has the wrong owner/permissions. Ensure that whatever account is being used to run Soldat is the owner of all the files, and that all files have the correct permissions (755 or 766 is usually recommended, but as long as everything is in order 700 should cause no problems)

3) The server was unable to open the map for another reason, ie: the file is opened and locked by another process, or the server is installed on a read-only drive/device. Soldat attempts to open all files with write access, and will fail if it can't.

Most likely, it's 1).

Offline vector

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problem after the first change of a map
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2006, 08:04:25 am »
1) my maplist:
Airpirates
Arena
Arena2
Arena3
Bigfalls
Blox
Brodge
Bunker
Cambodia
Daybreak
DesertWind
Flashback
HH
Jungle
Krab
Lagrange
MrSnowman
RatCave
Rok
Shau
Tropiccave

It seems all correctly

2) owner is correctly.
permissions Was 644 has exposed 755. Has change a map has not helped.

3) It seems process is not engaged
I at first thought on server.sh. Has started directly soldatserver. Like all was corrected. However somewhere in one hour the problem again has arisen.

Offline chrisgbk

  • Inactive Staff
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1739
Re: Problem after the first change of a map
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2006, 09:05:35 pm »
Is your server dedicated to soldat, or does it run other services? Too many files open/insufficient RAM also cause this problem; we sould need to know more about your setup in order to help you. Also, what map does the error occur on? If it regularily occurs on a certain map it's easier to fix, but if it's random it's harder to track down.

Offline vector

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problem after the first change of a map
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2006, 05:42:06 am »
1) On server run: apache, cs 1.6, quake 3, pvpgn
2) ram =2gb,  cpu load ~ 20%.
3) Most likely is casual. I tried to change íàð various maps. The mistake occurs after change of a map.

my server.sh:
Code: [Select]
#/bin/bash/
# Soldat (Game server)
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/soldat:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
case "$1" in
    start)
./soldatserver 23073 16 soldat.ini maplist.txt &
echo "Starting Soldat Server"
;;
    stop)
pid=$(ps ax|grep soldatserver|grep -v grep | awk '{print $1}')
kill ${pid} > /dev/null 2>&1
;;
    *)
echo "Use: 'basename $0' { start | stop }"
exit 64
;;
esac

By the way by it scropts server of the soldier to not switch off.
Even through "kill" it does not die. It is necessary to do "kill -9"

If to start directly, through "./soldatserver", after change of a map the order. However approximately after hour of the test the problem has given about itself to know. And "./soldatserver &" also is not started. Or is started not by background process.

Date Posted: July 19, 2006, 04:56:30 AM
Now played on 85.25.131.131. Firstly all îê. Then has thrown out from game and steel the same problems that at me. Probably I am not lonely :)

Offline chrisgbk

  • Inactive Staff
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1739
Re: Problem after the first change of a map
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2006, 09:34:47 pm »
1) On server run: apache, cs 1.6, quake 3, pvpgn
2) ram =2gb,  cpu load ~ 20%.
3) Most likely is casual. I tried to change íàð various maps. The mistake occurs after change of a map.
Depending on how busy your apache server is, that could possibly cause issues. But, see my next point.
Quote
my server.sh:
Code: [Select]
#/bin/bash/
# Soldat (Game server)
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/soldat:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
case "$1" in
    start)
./soldatserver 23073 16 soldat.ini maplist.txt &
Unless you created a file named maplist.txt, this is the problem: the file is actually mapslist.txt, notice the s in the filename. Since the file probably doesn't exist, the internal maplist is blank, so when the server auto-changes map, it doesn't actually change since there is no maplist. Since you are using all default parameters, they can be left out, ie: "./soldatserver &" OR "./soldatserver > /dev/null" & (I think this is correct syntax, may be slightly off) OR "nohup ./soldatserver &", depending on your setup.

Once you correct this, find out if it continues to happens on a specific map. Since you said it does happen after 1 hour approx when started manually, this is likely to be the case.
Quote
Code: [Select]
echo "Starting Soldat Server"
;;
    stop)
pid=$(ps ax|grep soldatserver|grep -v grep | awk '{print $1}')
kill ${pid} > /dev/null 2>&1
;;
    *)
echo "Use: 'basename $0' { start | stop }"
exit 64
;;
esac

By the way by it scropts server of the soldier to not switch off.
Even through "kill" it does not die. It is necessary to do "kill -9"
This is a known issue, fixed in the next version of the dedicated server (2.5.2).
Quote
If to start directly, through "./soldatserver", after change of a map the order. However approximately after hour of the test the problem has given about itself to know. And "./soldatserver &" also is not started. Or is started not by background process.
If I understand what you are saying correctly, "./soldatserver &" doesn't work when typed in to console? It's possible that the "./soldatserver &" syntax is not supported by your linux distrib, try "nohup ./soldatserver &" and see how that goes.
Quote
Date Posted: July 19, 2006, 04:56:30 AM
Now played on 85.25.131.131. Firstly all îê. Then has thrown out from game and steel the same problems that at me. Probably I am not lonely :)
It depends on whether or not that server runs custom maps or not; custom maps are currently affected by a wrong map version bug even if they match, which will be fixed in the next client release. (will be released sometime before the sun destroys all life on earth... maybe ;)) If it's on a normal map, then it's possible that your client side version of the map really does differ, for whatever reason. Clientside, Soldat maintains a list of files not to download, which includes all official files, so if your version of a map does not match it won't be downloaded.

Offline vector

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 11
Re: Problem after the first change of a map
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2006, 06:12:07 am »
While  apache server serves 1 site with ~50 visitors per day.
Quote
maplist.txt, this is the problem: the file is actually mapslist.txt
ouch  :)
Has corrected, but has not helped. I before without parameters started. Therefore it like should not cause.
Code: [Select]
kill -9 ${pid} > /dev/null 2>&1Has made so that killed processes
Further has made the following:
./soldatserver 23073 16 soldat.ini mapslist.txt > /dev/null &
After that all works normally third hour. I'm testing longer I shall look as will work.
thnx