Author Topic: Was this designed to be as anti-intuitive as possible?  (Read 2200 times)

Offline peebs

• Major(1)
Was this designed to be as anti-intuitive as possible?
« on: July 18, 2006, 07:53:06 pm »
Soldat is fun as hell to play, but I've been messing with defining "way points" for the bots for the past couple HOURS.  What a waste of time!  This is completely frustrating and pointless.  Whoever designed Soldat really needs to RE-THINK how the bots are programmed to work.  There are a LOT easier ways to get things done.  I'm not just talking out my ass either - I'm a game programmer myself for over 12 years.

I'm sorry, this is just terrible.  This entire system is completely against intuition, and every little thing breaks it.  Please redesign how the AI works - it will make things easier on everyone.  Having waypoints that need to be pixel perfect is a waste of time.

~Sean

Offline Plonkoon

• Veteran
  • I know Karate!....and several other Japanese words
Re: Was this designed to be as anti-intuitive as possible?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 08:01:18 pm »
He was a feaking teenager when he made it.  And It's really not that important how good the bots are because the game was meant for multiplayer.

Offline jrgp

• Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2006, 08:47:22 pm »
I do agree with peebs on this.

I would reccoemend that MM would redo the waypoint system, but then all of the maps with existing wapoints would have to be redone, and alot of new work would be done for nothing.

So, maybe it is better that nothing is changed.
There are other worlds than these

Offline Mistercharles

• Veteran
  • +
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2006, 09:48:05 pm »
^Not nessecelery. Soldat could still be compatible with the old map files.
shoutout to m'boyz eagles_arrows, echo_trail, wraithlike, sadistatheart, chakapoko maker, jrgp, aznblood, chakra, keron cyst, et al, miss you, let's '#gather some day

Offline peebs

• Major(1)