Author Topic: /reconnect command  (Read 1328 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline M.rSnow

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
/reconnect command
« on: May 11, 2008, 12:30:46 pm »
:)
I think it should be implented. Apparently it haven't been suggested before(weird). Cause if I'm in a sever and I'm having some diabolic bug and i want to rejoin quickly, whitout taking the risk of marking another lobby sever. I should be able to just type /reconnect. Sure it would mess up my stats but its better than letting the bug go on.And its great for hexer.

Should this be a poll?

Edit:
To clarify this is meant to be a way to reconnect whitout leaving the server. Otherwise its not very usefull. Though that might be harder to add.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2008, 09:07:46 am by M.rSnow »
Lapis: You need a vacation or a bullet though the head both works just fine by me.

Offline ViN

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 327
  • Try, Fail, Repeat.
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2008, 01:07:20 pm »
/reconnect , like in all other games.
F12 for sure.
I bet all the modders will tell it isn't something that HAS to be implemented and they will support the fucking explosions more.

Geekier than you!

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2008, 01:17:07 pm »
Also when there are bugs that u can just rejoin to fix (like wrong team bug, or wrong kill/death count bug (not sure if that still exists))
F12

Offline -Major-

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2008, 02:01:19 pm »
will probably get abused, due to the fact you spawn at the very time you join a team = ultimate defense!!! :O

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2008, 04:47:16 pm »
will probably get abused, due to the fact you spawn at the very time you join a team = ultimate defense!!! :O
good point...
either i change my vote to f11 or keep it f12 only if they have it so u dont respawn instantly on join, or somehow check client-side when u do /rejoin, then on next join, don't spawn instantly...

Offline BondJamesBond

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 986
    • http://tobylands.com
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2008, 04:50:53 pm »
How about you can only use /reconnect once a map?

but then again, the reason for this addition is because of bugs. The more appropriate solution would be to fix the bugs, not find a way around it. :)
The computer is a moron.
?  - Peter Drucker

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2008, 06:26:35 pm »
but then again, the reason for this addition is because of bugs. The more appropriate solution would be to fix the bugs, not find a way around it. :)
[sarcasm]kind of like the work-around where you cant do commands like /t or other short cmds[/sarcasm]

Offline M.rSnow

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2008, 06:52:35 am »
Of cause your not supposed to respawn after each rejoin. And i don't know any computor (ofc there are but i don't have any) that can reconnect under 5 seconds. (I see that as average spawn time)

How about you can only use /reconnect once a map?
Yey :D
/reconnect , like in all other games.
F12 for sure.
I bet all the modders will tell it isn't something that HAS to be implemented and they will support the fecking explosions more.
Well i think this sould be cuite easely inplented. Dont know much about programming/coding but sience theres allready a way to join soldat whitout clicking in the lobby it should be easy.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2008, 06:55:49 am by M.rSnow »
Lapis: You need a vacation or a bullet though the head both works just fine by me.

Offline Eddy

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 29
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2008, 09:36:40 am »
You can simply click the "join game" button...

Offline STM1993

  • Rainbow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 2072
  • It's been a long time.
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2008, 10:13:12 am »
Just point and click "Join Game" the minute you get kicked or whatever. Don't have to find the server again.

Offline BondJamesBond

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 986
    • http://tobylands.com
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2008, 05:08:49 pm »
That is still a hassle =\
The computer is a moron.
?  - Peter Drucker

Offline thegrandmaster

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 543
    • Grandy on Steam
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2008, 01:52:47 am »
When you are spectating it might be useful to be able to choose a team to join as well.

F12
ohgodwhydidInamemyselfthis. Just call me Grandy.

Offline Pie

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 761
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2008, 03:10:48 am »
When you are spectating it might be useful to be able to choose a team to join as well.

F12
has been fixed so you technically don't leave the server (I think) when you rejoin. Also If you join as a spec, you don't have to leave to change to red or blue.
Lol, internets.

Offline Hair|Trigger

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1595
  • HT|
Re: /rejoin command
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2008, 05:47:37 am »
I don't know about this..

After all, we are pretty tolerant of server kickings and bugs arent we?

Player since late 2007

Offline pavliko

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 397
  • >‿‿◕
    • Offical TTW Community
Re: /reconnect command
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2008, 11:47:22 am »
F12 i think if a person gets bugged like map bug or something hell just type /reconect ....
but the servers must record the ip numbers so users wont reconect like idiots...
i think i stick to this idea
The safest thing to do is jumping out of a plane!