Author Topic: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13  (Read 71003 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Monsteri

  • Artist
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 771
  • Strange thing
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #220 on: February 19, 2016, 12:49:46 pm »
there are many big issues, but they have their workarounds.
Sorry if I'm insolent.

Offline Home

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 43
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #221 on: February 19, 2016, 03:17:45 pm »
I will give it a try and see what can be done.

Offline Shoozza

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1631
  • Soldat's Babysitter
    • Website
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #222 on: February 21, 2016, 11:19:02 am »
There are some issues with HD textures (you need to use the non HD ones and replace them later when you share the map or play Soldat)
If you have some issues let me know (I took over development from Fryer).

If you want to see what changes are coming take a look at: https://hansoftx.com/organization/25b699103b67fa1500c52e0b/ec1ea1dadc7f8795cdf06aa0
Rules
Tools: ARSSE - SARS - SRB - chatMod

Offline duz

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 586
  • Old nick: HunterZ
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #223 on: February 21, 2016, 11:42:37 am »
2002-2007 / 2009-2012
HunterZ The Movie I / II / III
Awards

Offline Home

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 43
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #224 on: February 22, 2016, 08:29:12 am »
Yea sounds good! Okay thank you for the tip.

Offline Savage

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 147
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #225 on: February 22, 2016, 02:50:47 pm »
I would like to see PolyWorks built into Soldat so You could do the tests in realtime for example Bots behaviours on waypoints or jumps for Climb. I'm sure that would make maps making easier, faster and more enjoyable :)

Offline Shoozza

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1631
  • Soldat's Babysitter
    • Website
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #226 on: February 23, 2016, 05:54:05 am »
This kind of integration requires a complete rewrite. Not sure if it will happen. One way around this would be allowing other programs to send some actions to soldat (like switch map, or reload map) while positioning the soldat window. This might be enough already
Rules
Tools: ARSSE - SARS - SRB - chatMod

Offline Falcon`

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 792
  • A wanted lagger
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #227 on: February 23, 2016, 06:50:21 am »
Or adding dynamic map api to scriptcore... which is somewhere deep in my todo list.
If you're not paying for something, you're not the customer; you're the product being sold.
- Andrew Lewis

Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5017
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #228 on: March 07, 2016, 05:38:47 am »
Can you put this on github? It would be very nice to be able to contribute by way of pull requests.. Migrating from SVN to git is easy, you can use git svn to convert to git whilst keeping history.
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline ExHunter

  • Inactive Soldat Developer
  • Soldier
  • ******
  • Posts: 154
  • Speedy go!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #229 on: June 24, 2016, 12:13:57 pm »
Polyworks is now on github.

https://github.com/Soldat/polyworks

Please consider reporting bugs there.

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2012
  • We can do better!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #230 on: July 06, 2016, 06:19:39 am »
I reported some elementary bugs, I will continue reporting when these are fixed.

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2012
  • We can do better!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #231 on: July 10, 2016, 06:51:35 am »
I see you finished one bug already ExHunter. Great!
I added more bugs

Offline ExHunter

  • Inactive Soldat Developer
  • Soldier
  • ******
  • Posts: 154
  • Speedy go!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #232 on: July 10, 2016, 03:43:17 pm »
Hey there,

I need some help with the 4K texture issue. Can anybody provide me some information, what exactly needs to be done? I'd appreciate it.

You can post it either here or on github ( https://github.com/Soldat/polyworks/issues/6 )

Thanks

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2012
  • We can do better!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #233 on: July 11, 2016, 04:46:42 am »
Does anyone know what causes this? http://i.imgur.com/sLYXhmI.jpg
I have put the red boxes together using scenery for the sides and corners, but the scenery is all 8x8 and should without without doing this. (I also tried with 16x16 with no difference)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2016, 04:48:28 am by homerofgods »

Offline Monsteri

  • Artist
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 771
  • Strange thing
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #234 on: July 11, 2016, 05:55:58 am »
Hey there,

I need some help with the 4K texture issue. Can anybody provide me some information, what exactly needs to be done? I'd appreciate it.

You can post it either here or on github ( https://github.com/Soldat/polyworks/issues/6 )

Thanks
IIRC you have to first create the map with a low resolution texture, completely finish the map first, then replace the texture file (in the folder, not via PW) with the 4K one. Do NOT compile the map again after this or it'll break.

Yeah it's retarded I know
Sorry if I'm insolent.

Offline Viral

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 361
  • 123 hi
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #235 on: July 11, 2016, 06:40:35 am »
Does anyone know what causes this? http://i.imgur.com/sLYXhmI.jpg
I have put the red boxes together using scenery for the sides and corners, but the scenery is all 8x8 and should without without doing this. (I also tried with 16x16 with no difference)

Can you attach the .zip with PMS and sceneries you used?

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2012
  • We can do better!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #236 on: July 11, 2016, 09:15:08 am »
Here

Offline Viral

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 361
  • 123 hi
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #237 on: July 11, 2016, 09:36:44 am »
One thing you should pay atention to when doing stuff like this is checking if the sceneries do actually touch each other and don't leave a gap. To do that zoom in as much as you can (1600%) in PW and check it.
As you can see in the screenshot below - there is still space between the sceneries.

However it still doesn't show all the gaps ^.- I think the only solution is to overlap 1px~ of each scenery. I guess scenery rendering isn't as pixelperfect as its shown in PW. You can sometimes place polygons so close to each other to notice the gap just to see it disappear the moment you move your cursor a bit (in game that is). The similar thing probably causes the issue. In PW you can set sceneries/polygons with 0,01px precision but i bet it isn't as accurate ingame
« Last Edit: July 11, 2016, 09:48:33 am by Viral »

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2012
  • We can do better!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #238 on: July 11, 2016, 10:53:33 am »
Thx for the help Viral
I tried zooming down and move it a bit together, but in-game it looked the same.
Damn that's devastating for my project. I wanted to make simple 8x8 or 16x16 blocks to make things more simple.
Overlapping 16x16, or even 17x17 blocks is not an option for me.

Offline Falcon`

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 792
  • A wanted lagger
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13
« Reply #239 on: July 11, 2016, 11:19:36 am »
ask ExHunter for snapping tool ;)
If you're not paying for something, you're not the customer; you're the product being sold.
- Andrew Lewis

Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live.