Author Topic: Airstrike  (Read 2397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hacktank

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 462
  • Soldat Scripter
    • HTZRPG
Airstrike
« on: April 18, 2010, 05:11:25 pm »
Script Name: Airstrike
Script Description Airstrike for TW
Author: Hacktank
Compile Test: Passed
Core Version: 2.6.5
Hosted by: Soldat Central - http://soldatcentral.com/

Full Description:
Airstrike

Airstrike, at timed intervals, creates an airstrike of m79 or cluster
grenades that sweeps either the alpha or bravo side of the map.

This is intended for Trenchwar maps.

Although this uses AppOnIdle its results would make you swear that it
using a threaded loop.

You MUST put the enclosed bot (bomber.bot) into the bots folder of
your server or it will not work!

There are quite a few settings you can change at the top of the
script, they are all commented telling what they are.

An admin can use /adminstrike to call one on command.

When the strike kills someone the bot actually speaks, sometimes with
random messages, sometimes with situational responses.

Pics:





(Size 2.83 KB)
- http://soldatcentral.com/index.php?page=script&f=184 -


** Script hosted by Soldat Central! Please visit the author's script page and Rate this script **


Offline Zapper

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 31
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 06:26:30 am »
nais. But why did you hide your face? ;o

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 07:27:42 am »
Because its green! HES A ZOMBIE!!! (seriously though, I think its green, not sure why to hide it though)

Nice to have the option of what kind of projectile. GJ.

Offline Gizd

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 586
  • (Re)tired
    • Eat-this! community site
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2010, 09:06:49 am »
Although this uses AppOnIdle its results would make you swear that it
using a threaded loop.
No(screenshots look like you're just spawning 2 bullets, 1 is higher...).

When bombing with clusters, spawn a random nova of those shards, single projectiles won't kill even bots...

Offline dnmr

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 315
  • emotionally handicapped
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2010, 09:27:55 am »
No(screenshots look like you're just spawning 2 bullets, 1 is higher...).
Gizd... >:|
I am disappoint.

It is 3 (three) bullets

Offline DorkeyDear

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1507
  • I also go by Curt or menturi
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2010, 11:16:13 am »
You make it sound like a bad thing. The fact is that it is high enough to be out of player's view range (or should be at least) so player's don't see it; as long as they reach 'terminal velocity' by the time they get in sight, all is good then.
Its the best way imo to nicely mimic a more smooth bullet trail without threads or slow one bullet per second.

Offline xmRipper

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 742
    • Macellan
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2010, 04:28:12 pm »
Giving a bit velocity to bullets in the direction of airstrike may look better imo. Like my TW script
CoFounder / CTO @ Macellan
Founder Turkish Soldat Community

Offline Hacktank

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 462
  • Soldat Scripter
    • HTZRPG
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2010, 04:28:42 pm »
It spawns many of them, it just so happens that only 3 are shown in my screenshot.

Here is a video of it, it gets good about halfway in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssjjso7fqXg


Offline Gizd

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 586
  • (Re)tired
    • Eat-this! community site
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2010, 06:43:51 am »
You clearly haven't seen a threaded airstrike...

Offline Hacktank

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 462
  • Soldat Scripter
    • HTZRPG
Re: Airstrike
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2010, 07:40:31 am »
I made one in the beginning, and it was unstable, but this beats one shot per second...