Author Topic: Non-default controls  (Read 1398 times)

Offline Moogle

• Major(1)
Non-default controls
« on: April 13, 2010, 07:51:50 pm »
So it's my first time posting on the forums despite having played Soldat for, what is it now, like eight or nine years. Has Soldat even existed for that long? Anyways I moved to a place that has good internet and so I'm now playing online and it's really fun (played against bots my whole life).
I've noticed people have different styles of play and that got me thinking about how exactly they're controlling their guys. I mean the physical button configs everybody uses. I've never used the standard setup (a,s,w,d etc.) so I don't know how effective that is but I bet some people have some interesting ways to do it.
I for one have most of my directions on the block of buttons above the arrow keys (P. Up, P. Down, Del etc.) with 7 on the num pad as my move right. Enter is nades, Shift is reload, Ctrl is switch weapon and / above the Enter key is drop weapon. 0 on the num pad is to prone.
I find this control scheme really good as I never have to take my fingers off the movement keys for any reason, everything else is accessible with the pinky finger except prone, which always has the thumb on it, and the whole thing is just ergonomic and easy to use. Try it sometime.
So yeah, I don't expect to post too much around here but if you see me in the pubs you'll know who I am now. Peace.

Offline croat1gamer

• Veteran
  • OMG CHANGING AVATAR!!! ^ω^
Re: Non-default controls
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 07:57:57 pm »
WSAD is the default movement keyset for each game, mostly because it is close to the "natural" placement of the left hand when typing, and also you have quick access to the nearby keys, while the arrows are distant from the closest keys.

On a side note, some people play with the EDSF and similar keysets, because they have easier access to the closest keys.