Author Topic: [F1] menu  (Read 2237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline freestyler

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 326
[F1] menu
« on: August 15, 2006, 06:41:03 am »
I've recently come up with an idea of developing the options available after pressing the [F1] key. In my opinion, the well-known list of players should be transformed into sort of a panel, which could actually take over the [Esc] options and add them to the ones that are already there.

Basically, a menu would pop up right after highlighting the nickname of a particular player (on the player list) and pressing the right mouse button, in which one could find such possibilities as voting either for maps or for some trouble-makers to leave the game, as well as "check IP" options and so on. Naturally, all the server admins would have more to choose from, for instance: kick / ban / give admin commands.
Actually, I made a mockup, which shows what the whole thing would look like ->in game<- , as I reckon that one picture is better than a lenghty, 1000-word long description.



That'd make gaming easier for all the players, due to the fact that we wouldn't have to look for the desirable guy to kick by pressing those fecking arrows, but open the list by pressing [F1], highlighting the nickname and voting him to leave the game instead.

At the moment, opening the player list window allows us to continue playing. If we decided to vote kick someone - the crossfire would change into a normal cursor right after entering the player list window sphere which would activate the option of the poping up menu, as shown above.

Please comment on this idea if you'd like to see it implemented in Soldat. If I receive positive feedback, I'll most definitely share my concept with MM.

translated by Zieg ;]

Offline Bgretydews

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 805
  • y halo thar rabbit
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2006, 06:44:21 am »
I think a /votekick # Would be a much better simpler idea, and the Ban and admin things are needed as they are simple to do with commands
http://yossi.jrgp.org/?action=maps&sa=user_maps&u=10
Image (and link) is broken. Feel free to fix it.

Offline Bionic_Hand

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2006, 07:59:00 am »
I think that's not a very grand idea to say the least. When do you honestly have the time to do that in a heated battle? I for one just have someone in my clan kick them for me. Unless you are on a server that has a 10 sec. spawn, you really don't have much time to go through all of that. Just memorize the commands.

B_H

Offline SadistAtHeart

  • Global Moderator
  • Flagrunner
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • golevka
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2006, 08:01:59 am »
I think a /votekick # Would be a much better simpler idea, and the Ban and admin things are needed as they are simple to do with commands

I agree.

Offline freestyler

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 326
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2006, 08:59:59 am »
I know all commands, but I think it'll be much faster than checking player's number and typing /kick 3.

Offline Bionic_Hand

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2006, 09:11:43 am »
I personally, rarely, have a long enough spawn time to pull off what your saying, especially on certain maps, unless maybe you would take a kill or 2 to kick someone. Wouldn't you still need to type the reason out =/

B_H

Offline Fluffy

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2006, 11:29:05 am »
I think this is way faster than typing, pals. I'm for it.

Long live Nazi-Communism!

Offline Outcast

  • Global Moderator
  • Flagrunner
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Semi-retired antagonist
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2006, 02:25:36 pm »
I personally, rarely, have a long enough spawn time to pull off what your saying, especially on certain maps, unless maybe you would take a kill or 2 to kick someone. Wouldn't you still need to type the reason out =/

B_H

What time are you talking about, if you want to kick or ban or admin someone, this makes it simpler generally and also faster. But you really want to kick ban admin someone you don't care about 4 seconds of work do you?
o/

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5023
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2006, 04:28:03 pm »
I like it because of its simplicity.
But I dont like that every time you push f1 the controls go to mouse mode and you cant actually play soldat.
Maybe there could be 2 menus, one f1 and one f2?
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6142
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2006, 04:53:45 pm »
I think that's not a very grand idea to say the least. When do you honestly have the time to do that in a heated battle? I for one just have someone in my clan kick them for me. Unless you are on a server that has a 10 sec. spawn, you really don't have much time to go through all of that. Just memorize the commands.

B_H
I personally, rarely, have a long enough spawn time to pull off what your saying, especially on certain maps, unless maybe you would take a kill or 2 to kick someone. Wouldn't you still need to type the reason out =/

B_H

... what makes you think that game admins care about their in-game stats when they want or need to do admin stuff in-game?  I know I'll sit there for 2 minutes getting shot at if it means successfully banning a hacker.  Sometimes the extra time it takes to find a player number and type it make the difference between banning someone on the spot versus having to go back in the logs and find them.

I support this idea.

Offline Death MachineX350

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 492
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2006, 07:20:01 pm »
  :) This idea would make life easier for everyone. Now Instead of getting spawnkilled trying to kick someone I can do it faster and more effeciently. This ones a no-brainer.

Offline Kaine

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 97
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2006, 05:18:35 pm »
im all for it.  think of all the trouble u gotta go through in a zombie game to boot that one player thats on bravo, or alpha, whichever is the zombie team.

Offline kilroy1501

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 8
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2006, 08:18:21 pm »
This idea isnt bad, but the F1 menu is made to be able to be onscreen as you are playing. Now, if you could do all this without using the left mouse button, then it could be a pretty good idea. The popup menu could also have a Set Team option. And this pop-up menu should only appear for admins since other players can't use it.

Offline Valorman

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2006, 10:01:44 pm »
approval
.

Offline Sotija

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1053
  • Sotija
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2006, 03:15:44 am »
Good IDEA...I support!

Offline freestyler

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 326
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #15 on: August 17, 2006, 04:14:06 am »
The popup menu could also have a Set Team option.

Yeah, it could look like menu in ARSSE:


Offline Meep.

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #16 on: August 17, 2006, 04:16:09 am »
 :o That'd be kind of a lot for in game if thats what you mean.

Offline Darth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 105
Re: [F1] menu
« Reply #17 on: August 17, 2006, 03:26:59 pm »
The popup menu could also have a Set Team option.

Yeah, it could look like menu in ARSSE:

<Img (No point displaying it) />

I like your idea and this too. (hmm its the same idea) but anyway I think it would be great, and alot easier. Say if your in the middle of a battle and then theres this guy with this name "0o0/.,1  %;/234" It would be hard to kick him with the admin commands wouldn't it? This way is alot easier and easier for people like me!

Edit: I like the "Kill : )"

:)