Author Topic: A community appeal.  (Read 11502 times)

Offline vehicledestroyer

• Soldier
  • I'm a Soldat freelancer, and I'm Looking for work.
    • Crash Commando Kings
A community appeal.
« on: December 11, 2010, 01:23:42 am »
The new developers have a lot of work to do fixing the many issues in Soldat. And while this change in development is exciting to see, I think it’s safe to say that a new version of Soldat is more than a few months away. And when it comes a huge portion of the changes, will be fixes and they will be in the code; not seen. There’s a lot of work to do before they can start playing around with Soldat and add new fun things to it. So I am asking the community, everyone to help… with some fun things. The things the devs won’t get to for months we can do now! What I'd like the community to start with is a few polishing projects. Fill in the things that Title games have that Soldat does not. Make Soldat LOOK appealing to new comers. I want to see Soldat to reach it's highest again (I think it was 400000 players?) and go higher!

The projects at hand:

Tutorial: Design a simple, tutorial that explains the simple (how to shoot and fire the LAW), to more advanced (advanced movement, climbing and understand the depth Soldat has in its game play.) things Soldat. This will WELCOME new comers to learn to play Soldat and stay… because they know what the hell they’re doing! I want to help with this myself. I have some ideas so if you’re interested in helping me contact me. (ME + 1 or 2)

Redesigned and reorganized menus: A mod-able menu topic came up a little while ago. It raises the point that the current default menu is ‘old and boring’. Remember, the menu is the first and last thing new plays see. We want Soldat to leave a good impression on them… that way when exiting they don't go to ‘Add or remove programs’ right after! A competition should work good, in gathering lots of submissions. (Open to anyone to start the competition, include clear rules.)