Author Topic: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...  (Read 2539 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline -Bendarr-

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« on: March 04, 2011, 12:22:30 am »
ever since this morning, it's said the same thing all day. Any suggestions as to why?

Offline Monsteri

  • Artist
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 769
  • Strange thing
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 03:04:02 am »
It must be your own network, or then there really were such a problem, but no anymore.
Sorry if I'm insolent.

Offline Falcon`

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 792
  • A wanted lagger
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 05:04:49 am »
default lobby is rr.soldat.pl.
Check if you have lobby_servers.txt file, if it's readable and if it's content is "rr.soldat.pl"
If you're not paying for something, you're not the customer; you're the product being sold.
- Andrew Lewis

Always code as if the guy who ends up maintaining your code will be a violent psychopath who knows where you live.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5037
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 06:10:35 am »
When Soldat cannot connect to whatever is in the lobby_servers.txt file, it defaults to defaultlobby.soldat.pl

I just tested the lobby and it seems to work fine. Make sure the only thing in that file FalconPL and I mentioned is rr.soldat.pl and try again

Might have been a temporary network fluke.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 06:12:29 am by jrgp »
There are other worlds than these

Offline -Bendarr-

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 08:47:42 pm »
Yes the lobby server is right, and i installed a fresh copy, there is absolutely no firewall or anything blocking the interaction, and i pinged rr.soldat.pl and got a response. Ever since early in the morning of the 3rd.

Offline JotEmI

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 188
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2011, 09:08:56 pm »
It seems to be some kind of DNS problem. I was getting this error too, was using google DNS, changed it to my ISP DNS and now everything is fine.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 09:12:38 pm by JotEmI »

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5037
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2011, 09:30:08 pm »
Yeah, recently the dns on that domain was changed. I guess the change hadn't fully propogated yet.
There are other worlds than these

Offline -Bendarr-

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2011, 10:38:42 pm »
It seems to be some kind of DNS problem. I was getting this error too, was using google DNS, changed it to my ISP DNS and now everything is fine.

I switched over to Google DNS and it works, I'll switch back later

Offline w00titsme

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 219
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 07:57:22 pm »
ive got this too and i'm not sure how to fix it, it's been going on for a day or two.
Make your Coca Cola fresh!

Offline -Bendarr-

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 104
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2011, 08:18:40 pm »
try Google DNS like i did; go to network connections in the control panel, right click the properties of your active internet connection. Go to Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) and hit properties again.

 - Use the following DNS Server addresses:

Preferred DNS server: 8.8.8.8
Alternate DNS server: 8.8.4.4

hit OK and then disable and re-enable your connection.

Offline JotEmI

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 188
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2011, 11:59:57 am »
Strange but this problem still exists for some ppl. I've switched back to google DNS and lobby works fine for me but my friend, who was also using google DNS, still can't connect. He tried several different DNS servers with no luck (he can ping rr.soldat.pl but he can't connect in-game).

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2011, 08:11:22 pm »
This is fixed, it was not your ISP's fault or anything, so feel free to change back to the DNS servers you were using before.

We moved the lobby to a different server, and I updated rr.soldat.pl but forgot to change defaultlobby.soldat.pl.  I suspect the lobby isn't running on the old server anymore, so you got errors when the client tried to use defaultlobby.soldat.pl.

Sorry for the inconvenience/problems, please let me know if anyone is still having this problem after 12h or so from now.

Offline Bonecrusher

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1397
  • High above
    • Zabijaka.pl
Re: Error raised while connecting defaultlobby.soldat.pl...
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2011, 06:33:32 am »
Hell yeah, gj flab, I was worried it was my fault ;

Im chill like that