Author Topic: FANS Of METAL GEAR SOLID: MGS Themed Soldat, Multiplayer via Web Browser.[help]  (Read 2130 times)

Offline olivestab

• Major(1)
As the title says, Would this be possible?
I Run a forum site called Metal Gear Solid Universe( mgsuniverse.com ), a fan site/ discussion bard for the Metal Gear Solid Saga.

Recently, "Metal Gear Online" (metal gear solid 4's online multiplayer version of the game) closed it's servers this month after 4 years.
Many players are saddened by this, but rather than moving on, I attempted to create a small version of Metal Gear Online,
an advanced 2D platform shooter, with High -Res 8-bit graphics, and Metal Gear Solid Themed PMC characters, sounds, and maps.

When deciding on a style of controls and feel, I thought about soldat.
I wanted to create a game with soldat's physics, but more grounded mechanics,
i.e. no characters flying around like mayhem, the feeling of sliding on ice when walking.

I am not a programmer, and this is all overwhelming for me so it will take a long time to create (using unity, parallax, and 2d tool kits.)
So i thought, in the mean time, what If i could modify a version of Soldat?

Basiclly, I want to make a separate version exclusive for MGSU.
If possible, would it be easier to use a full download, or make it playable In the browser?
I want to create my own maps. (from MGO)
and my own weapons. (copy aspects from MGO aswell)

and have a complete separate Soldat/MGO server.

Is any of this possible?
I basically want to clone a small portion of soldat onto my site, and upload my own maps and weapons into the game,
so it can be a small soldat game, Metal Gear Solid Theme only.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2012, 09:20:44 am by olivestab »

Offline Adam

• Camper
  • When someone you argue with has a good point.
if you're gonna clone soldat no one's gonna play

Arguing with your girlfriend and you don't get a response for a few minutes

Offline machina

• Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran