Author Topic: A shot in the dark...  (Read 1683 times)

Offline Espadon

• Global Moderator
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • GO BEAT CRAZY
    • Tabnir at deviantART
A shot in the dark...
« on: June 16, 2013, 08:51:09 pm »

Here I am with over 200 angry nerds beating upon a giant golden dong.

Hey there again friends, while I was away I picked up internet space submarines, aka EVE Online. I'm sure a lot of you have heard ~things~ about this notorious game, but it's really pretty refreshing to be encouraged to blap all those blathering idiots for once. I started playing it last year after I saw some of the wacky shit the SomethingAwful community was doing in that game and maybe one too many episodes of Star Trek. I started from 0 and had to make new friends but I have to say, I don't think this game is as hard as it's reputed to be. I'm subscribed at the moment, although I haven't paid a cent out of my bank for subscriptions since I sell some quick artwork for spacemoney and buy my monthlies with that.

I'm aware EVE Online is as far removed from Soldat as it goes [3D vs 2D, subscription vs f2p, space opera vs contemporary military] and most of you came to Soldat because you weren't looking to pay for a game. I wouldn't have come here if there wasn't an alternative, but the main idea behind all this is that EVE is always more fun with friends. More friends.

So, how to make a difference in space without subscribing: There's such a thing as 21-day trial and you're basically allowed to do anything you would really want to do; I've optimized some plans to do things in less than 21 days, and as there's no limit on how many trials you can make, you can literally cycle trial accounts and get your dose of starship captaining and idiot dunking without paying a dime. In fact I'm doing this already as a way to have fun while my subscribed accounts are tied up.

What can you do in 21 days?
Beyond the typical rock mining and killing NPCs there's ample time to engage in fuckery like: