Author Topic: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)  (Read 1760 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Isabella

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 10
  • Played since 2004, really enjoy soldat
Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« on: September 06, 2013, 05:48:15 pm »
Hello, players.

I've been playing this on and off since 2004, and now I haven't played for 6 years, I'd like to try and get back in but I have this issue with downloading.

Whenever I download a file with mozilla... It opens it with Mozilla aswell, then I can press download again but it opens with Mozilla again, I've found some previous version of soldat but they are 1.6.2. and below, and whenever I play on it, and try to look for open servers I can't find ANY .. So I'm guessing I really do need 1.6.5. ... Whichever Patch I try to download it just doesn't work, it will save with Mozilla and it's super annoying... I wish someone could help me perhaps with a decent link ? Cause I've tried anything ( I suck with computers ) I love this game, it's easy for me ... Please help me I am desprate to play again!

yours sincerely,

Isabella

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5037
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 06:29:40 pm »
Hey girl

Download this file here. Right click the link, click "save link as" http://static.soldat.pl/downloads/soldat165.zip and choose your desktop.

Go to your desktop, and double click it. It should open up as a folder. Then double click the setup file inside, which should let you proceed with the installation.
There are other worlds than these

Offline Isabella

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 10
  • Played since 2004, really enjoy soldat
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2013, 06:47:27 pm »
Hello, first of all thanks for trying to help me.

Well I did exactly what you asked me to , But the thing is now it still saves with a pictogram of Mozilla, and when I open it the same happens, And when i right click opened it, it asked me "With which app do you wish to open it?

It's really frustrating, I tried for 3 hours now Dx .. I have the version 1.6.2. on my computer because that one was registered with Softonic, a 1.6.5. was unabled to find with softonic unfortunatly, if it's a softonic file.. then i can open it , cause softonic extracts it into my computer.. That's how it worked with the 1.6.2. but on the 1.6.2. There are no available server :/

Well here's the screenshot, As you can see the soldat165 thingy is a mozilla pictogram.


Thanks,

Isabella

Offline SyavX

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Camper
  • ******
  • Posts: 338
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2013, 01:32:07 am »
Looks like you have once changed association of .zip files with Firefox. Try this to restore it.
Press [Win]+[R] and enter the next command:
Code: [Select]
cmd /c assoc .zip=CompressedFolder

Offline Shoozza

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1632
  • Soldat's Babysitter
    • Website
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2013, 10:48:58 am »
If that doesn't work try this:
right click on that file
go to "open with" in the context menu
then select "choose default program..."
there pick windows explorer
Rules
Tools: ARSSE - SARS - SRB - chatMod

Offline Isabella

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 10
  • Played since 2004, really enjoy soldat
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2013, 09:03:43 pm »
Looks like you have once changed association of .zip files with Firefox. Try this to restore it.
Press [Win]+[R] and enter the next command:
Code: [Select]
cmd /c assoc .zip=CompressedFolder

SYav, I really think you're right. I deleted winrar once, I just downloaded it back, then I right clicked the file and said open with Winrar, It worked! I still have the problem that it saves with Mozilla tho :( Which is also a problem when I download other stuff like subtitles for movies.. :( But anyway thank you so much for helping me out!!!

It works, I can play now!

Thanks,

Isabella


Edit1:
If that doesn't work try this:
right click on that file
go to "open with" in the context menu
then select "choose default program..."
there pick windows explorer

SYooza , thank you too, for the help, I did what you asked me to but then I downloaded Winrar so I opened it with Winrar, I extracted the file and it worked :) Thank you too!

sincerely,

Isabella


Edit2:
By the way, is there really no way that you can play fullscreen with windows 8?... :(

Edit by Shoozza: Next time please modify your post instead of double and triple posting
« Last Edit: September 09, 2013, 01:01:21 pm by Shoozza »

Offline No-Mercy

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2013, 04:21:32 am »
Yes you can, uncheck full screen . put it in windowed mode at 100 %. Have fun ! ;)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Offline Isabella

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 10
  • Played since 2004, really enjoy soldat
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2013, 05:53:07 am »
How do I do this? Because I can't'see those options in the option menu O:!

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2029
  • We can do better!
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2013, 07:04:14 am »
How do I do this? Because I can't'see those options in the option menu O:!
There's a separate setup in the folder you instealled soldat.

Offline No-Mercy

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2013, 07:07:08 am »

How do I do this? Because I can't'see those options in the option menu O:!
There's a separate setup in the folder you instealled soldat.
                                                                 
And don't forgot to set your resolution!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Offline Isabella

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 10
  • Played since 2004, really enjoy soldat
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2013, 09:38:17 am »

How do I do this? Because I can't'see those options in the option menu O:!
There's a separate setup in the folder you instealled soldat.
                                                                 
And don't forgot to set your resolution!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Thanks both of you! What should I change the resolution to?

Offline Izzy Rose (PL)

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 118
  • I am tank! Get out my way!
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2013, 10:55:58 am »
Right click on desktop - personalisation - ehm... screen settings? Monitors? Dunno how it sounds in english version of windows. And there should be given your current resolution.
Ingame known as just Izzy
[Barret]/
+

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2029
  • We can do better!
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2013, 04:11:52 pm »
640x480 is the default soldat resolution for 4:3
If you have a widescreen (16:9) you should use 854x480, it will actually give you wider view
Other then that, the only effect you will get is different size of the gui (healthbar, chat, menu and all that)

Most settings doesn't matter that much, I usually just make sure I have turned off the intro and have fullscreen on.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2013, 07:44:55 am by homerofgods »

Offline Irlandec

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 176
Re: Been playing this since 2004, Need help getting back in!:)
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2013, 01:46:07 pm »
Suggesting you to try out the Knife Only gamemodes as well :)
Feel yourself welcomed!