Author Topic: Ruger  (Read 17917 times)

DarkCrusade

Ruger
« on: April 13, 2014, 03:25:02 am »
What's the status on Ruger? What do people think about it? I noticed that it is a fairly overlooked weapon (which is exactly why I'm playing it; true hipster) both on public servers and on Soldatforums, but I am by no means an expert at gathers or the SCTFL scene of course, so let us hear the opinion on some of the people that appear to matter.

Offline 15th_account

• Inactive Soldat Developer
  • Soldier
Re: Ruger
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2014, 04:59:33 am »
It's been brought to my attention during the current SCTFL playoffs that it has barely seen use at all.

When I asked and read some of the players' thoughts they said it was too inaccurate. Though this boggles me as the Ruger has had the current amount of accuracy for a decade, and was at some points considered overpowered. Personally I like how it requires a cool-headed person that can let go of the movement keys and jets before firing.

For the upcoming 1.6.7 release I expect an indirect buff due to other weapons being nerfed, as well as a +1 dmg to make 2-hit kills a wee bit more common.

DarkCrusade

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2014, 05:16:05 am »
I play on public servers only, but maybe my opinion will help with the current situation. Ruger is often compared to the Desert Eagles, because both weapons are semi-automatic. The main difference though is that the rifle has but 4 rounds while the pistols have 7. And that's the main problem actually! Deagles kill in two headshots at mid range while Ruger does that at all ranges. But the pistols have a much higher cadence, lower reload time and more ammo while it is quite difficult to time shots right when both you and your opponent move into different directions.The curved line of the deagles is a great advantage in that matter, because it covers more area, thus is more likely to hit.