Author Topic: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"  (Read 1648 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fale

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 56
Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« on: July 06, 2016, 06:05:54 pm »
Hello!

A strange bug occurred a week ago, after I open Soldat and click "Request servers" the screen becomes white and Soldat stops responding completely and I get the message to close the game or I have to go to "Processes" and close it there. I reinstalled it 2 times and also installed a new 1.7.1 version. Strange thing is that it was working for 2 days in the past week so I though everyone are having the same issue.

Any help appreciated,

Thanks!

Offline darDar

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 810
  • 2004 - 2018
    • #Soldat Gather - Community on Discord
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 06:25:40 pm »
That occurs when the lobby server is not responding, which was the case a week ago. However, if the lobby is online (it is now), it should work fine again.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2016, 06:27:13 pm by darDar »
Soldat Gather 'Matchmaking Community on Discord'

gather.soldat.pl

| My Maps: ctf_Pyramid, ctf_Replay, ctf_Blako, ctf_R6, ctf_Ntex, ctf_Caro, ctf_Bizar & vs_mode mappack |

Offline Fale

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 56
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2016, 06:31:04 pm »
That occurs when the lobby server is not responding, which was the case a week ago. However, if the lobby is online (it is now), it should work fine again.

It's not working. Soldat completely freezes when I click "Request servers". I tried to disable Avast, no help.

Offline Control

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 72
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2016, 07:26:06 pm »
That occurs when the lobby server is not responding, which was the case a week ago. However, if the lobby is online (it is now), it should work fine again.

It's not working. Soldat completely freezes when I click "Request servers". I tried to disable Avast, no help.

I'm getting the same thing.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2016, 07:40:38 pm »
Can you try again?
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline Control

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 72
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2016, 01:31:50 am »
Works now. ^^ Ty

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2016, 02:02:29 am »
Works now. ^^ Ty

Apparently Soldat client only resolves rr.soldat.pl if it's an A record not a CNAME. :-/
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline Fale

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 56
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2016, 06:26:29 am »
Works now. ^^ Ty

Apparently Soldat client only resolves rr.soldat.pl if it's an A record not a CNAME. :-/

Works for me too now. So has it been fixed? I have no idea what you're talking about :P

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2016, 10:01:23 am »
Works now. ^^ Ty

Apparently Soldat client only resolves rr.soldat.pl if it's an A record not a CNAME. :-/

Works for me too now. So has it been fixed? I have no idea what you're talking about :P

Yes I fixed it. It's a bug in soldat client where it doesn't do dns lookups correctly but I did a workaround.
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline Fale

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 56
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2016, 10:30:32 am »
Great, thanks!

Offline CheeSeMan.

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 729
  • WOOT SLIPPERY PICKLES
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2016, 02:07:31 pm »
Happening again for me now?
Banana Banging since summer 2008!     
cB. Cheeky Bananas                
#CheekyB.Soldat

Offline machina

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1100
  • The world isn't nice. Why should I be...?
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2016, 03:54:05 pm »
Maybe some fallback should be implemented?

If Soldat cannot get list of servers from https://soldat.pl/en/lobby then some cached version of lobby hosted on heroku or something could be accessed instead.

Of course, that wouldn't be up to date but players would remain possibility to search for servers on list. Those servers are not hosted by Soldat servers so ones should work well anyway.

Offline BatCat

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 9
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2016, 04:51:00 pm »
Yea, still happening for me. Was happening a bit last night and a bit today as well. Seems to come and go.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2016, 05:31:28 pm »
This will be properly fixed soon.

1) I fixed the bug in lobby causing it to crash. We will roll out the new build today
2) As a stopgap a cron runs every ten minutes to bring the lobby back if it is crashed. Previously it ran every hour.

edit: I just rolled out the new version now. It shouldn't crash again.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2016, 05:51:49 pm by jrgp »
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2016, 10:35:16 am »
Can you guys confirm this is fixed please?
Careful with that axe, Eugene.

Offline BatCat

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 9
Re: Soldat stops responding when I "Request servers"
« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2016, 11:02:47 am »
Haven't had any issues since. Seems fixed so far.