Poll

Anyone want this Server Option?

:D Hell yeah!
5 (16.7%)
:-\ I don't care.
7 (23.3%)
>:( No.
18 (60%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Author Topic: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking  (Read 3542 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yuth

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 35
Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« on: June 12, 2006, 02:15:38 pm »
I was thinking there should be a Server Option to disable/enable the screen shaking from explosives. I find it rather useless and annoying.


Please comment this as you feel it's most comfortable.
  :-*

Offline Cookie.

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 121
  • I. R. Baboon
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2006, 02:24:56 pm »
I like the effect myself :P

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6142
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2006, 02:28:51 pm »
as a server side option, there'd be nothing wrong with adding this.  But it obviously cannot be a client side option

Offline xtishereb

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 908
  • I swear, my chainsaw killed you on its own.
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2006, 02:34:09 pm »
This would mean people would be able to maintain the same accuracy as they're being hammered by explosions, nerfing the 'nades, M79 and LAW beyond belief while buffing semi-autos like the Barrett. It will also remove some of the skill needed when dealing with explosives.
Plus there's nothing like seeing someone's shots go wild when they get hit by a grenade.
<3*xwd
love conquers all

Offline Blues

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
  • Hum?
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2006, 08:37:23 pm »
I don't care, never really bothered me.
18:15

Offline zyxstand

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
  • Mother of all Bombs
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2006, 10:24:38 pm »
note people that he doesn't say "I want the shaking to be gone" - he merely suggests for the OPTION to remove it.  More options = better world!
Can't think of anything original to put here...

Offline Stalky

  • Inactive Staff
  • Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 216
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2006, 04:29:18 am »
No, more options = game is too diverse. I remember when soldat was upgraded from 1.0.5b to 1.1...the shaking from explosives was one of the nicest additions in the game. It adds a great atmosphere - if it wasn't there, you'd miss it.

Offline swebonny

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • BUahh...
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2006, 05:02:45 am »
YEah i like the shaking, so i say no.

But as server side it might work as someone said but not cliently...


Offline Yuth

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 35
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2006, 03:46:47 pm »
note people that he doesn't say "I want the shaking to be gone" - he merely suggests for the OPTION to remove it.  More options = better world!

That's right, there are so many lazy people just going through voting "No." when I'm suggesting it being server side optional to enable or disable the explosive screen shaking.  :(

No, more options = game is too diverse. I remember when soldat was upgraded from 1.0.5b to 1.1...the shaking from explosives was one of the nicest additions in the game. It adds a great atmosphere - if it wasn't there, you'd miss it.

Diverse... Right, but the way I think is to make everyone happy, and to make this game as enjoyable as possible. So therefore I think more options would result a happier community - As you'd have more options of how to play this game.

It was a nice addition, but also it ****s up with the Soldat being able to land on the polygons. Sometimes the Soldat actually gets stuck cause of this explosive screen shaking, and I don't find it useful when it happens to just slightly make me think of quit playing Soldat.

It is a nice atmosphere, but it's also messy.  :(
« Last Edit: June 13, 2006, 03:50:01 pm by Yuth »

Offline Aquarius

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 234
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2006, 03:51:51 pm »
It is NOT useless.

Offline zyxstand

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
  • Mother of all Bombs
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2006, 03:55:53 pm »
sry Yuth, but the people don't seem to be getting the true intention of this idea.  I cannot stress enough what I've said earlier:  More options = better game.  : /
Can't think of anything original to put here...

Offline Yuth

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 35
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2006, 04:13:26 pm »
It is NOT useless.

I said I don't find it useful when that happens, I didn't say it's not useful in the big picture- surely it can be fixed in some way.  ;)

The easiest way would be to disable it, so I thought of a server side option of disabling and enabling it.


sry Yuth, but the people don't seem to be getting the true intention of this idea.  I cannot stress enough what I've said earlier:  More options = better game.  : /

Thanks anyway though, for reading everything and getting the true intention of it.  :)

Offline BondJamesBond

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 986
    • http://tobylands.com
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2006, 06:23:43 pm »
But it obviously cannot be a client side option
I don't understand.. I think it'd be better as a client side option... Some people don't want shaking, and they join a server that has shaking, not good.
The computer is a moron.
?  - Peter Drucker

Offline Field Marshal

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 161
  • Generalfeldmarschall
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2006, 09:26:53 pm »
To tell you the truth i dont even notice it anymore, I'm fine with it

Offline T-Bone

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 895
  • Harmonicas Suck
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #14 on: June 14, 2006, 05:04:19 am »
im kind of indifferent on this topic, i still dont know if i would use it or not....it's not really something that bothers me. good thought though
Your acting like your having a duel and your opponent gets a pistol and you get a spork.
Isn't that pretty much what it is? I dunno wtf a spork is, I suppose it's way weaker than the pistol since you compared that to this.

Offline The Bone Collector

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1126
  • I'm so sexy.
    • Daniel Rutter Films
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #15 on: June 14, 2006, 09:51:02 am »
if tghis was to happen, then that would have to add less bink...anyway, rhis is a useless idea...Nice Try though
Just another soul to burn.

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6142
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #16 on: June 14, 2006, 12:07:51 pm »
But it obviously cannot be a client side option
I don't understand.. I think it'd be better as a client side option... Some people don't want shaking, and they join a server that has shaking, not good.

if it was a client-side option, then people who turn it off would have an advantage when they're in a server playing against someone who has it still turned on

I agree with jaybee's post though

Offline Eagles_Arrows

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1889
  • The Thread Killer
    • My Webcomic
Re: Disabling/Enabling Explosive Screen Shaking
« Reply #17 on: June 14, 2006, 01:27:29 pm »
Screen shaking has never been a problem for me.

"Sometimes it's a good day to die, sometimes it's a good day to have breakfast." - Smoke Signals