Author Topic: Soldat on Linux & OS X Systems  (Read 171438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #160 on: April 03, 2007, 01:46:06 pm »
Quote
9-17-04

Only a little... ;)

Guys, some awesome news. looks like someone has looked in the text render bug, and have committed the patch into the GIT tree! :D I haven't check if it's in the latest version (0.9.34) but the bug is marked as resolved, and that means Soldat should work 100% out-of-the-box in the upcoming version! :D  :o

too bad the text thing would have been fixed in 1.4 anyway since 1.4 uses a completely new font system (I've tested it)...

but I'm sure there are other games that were having the same problem that were helped by this

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #161 on: April 03, 2007, 03:47:39 pm »
That's cool FLAB. I guess it had something to do with the resolution changes. By the way, have you been able to see how 1.4 works in Linux so far? Just about the same or has something else come up? The only thing that worries me is the cheat protection, since that usually has some issues in WINE...
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #162 on: April 03, 2007, 04:46:51 pm »
That's cool FLAB. I guess it had something to do with the resolution changes. By the way, have you been able to see how 1.4 works in Linux so far? Just about the same or has something else come up? The only thing that worries me is the cheat protection, since that usually has some issues in WINE...

Soldat 1.4 doesn't really work in wine.  There was a wine dev who came to the forums last week, and I've invited him into the beta tester forum so he can play with 1.4 in wine and give us ffedback

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #163 on: April 16, 2007, 11:47:24 am »
Ooof, that sucks >_>

Oh well, at least we got a developer on it.

Date Posted: April 03, 2007, 08:15:01 PM
Wine 0.9.35 is out, and Soldat works perfectly!! :D

Well...there's still that bug with changing your controls...but the game itself looks great (and the fonts look aliased too! Even better than Windows, it seems to me!  :o)
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #164 on: April 16, 2007, 01:15:52 pm »
Lets hope we can have the same luck with 1.4

Offline The Bone Collector

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1126
  • I'm so sexy.
    • Daniel Rutter Films
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #165 on: April 18, 2007, 12:26:50 am »
Good luck guys, once I get back on the net, I'll be installing Ubantu and Windows on my laptops. Lets hope that the wine dev helps us out with 1.4 :)
Just another soul to burn.

Offline iDante

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #166 on: April 24, 2007, 10:32:03 pm »
Hey I have ubuntu and wine ...35 and I successfully ran the installer for soldat and even opened up setup but it won't let me access soldat131.exe. Its on my windows partition and I'm wondering if thats a problem?

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #167 on: April 25, 2007, 03:44:23 pm »
You successfully ran the installer? Then run Soldat from your fake Windows drive.

wine 'C:/Soldat/Soldat.exe'
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?

Offline iDante

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #168 on: April 25, 2007, 04:53:12 pm »
mm.. now it pops up with 2 errors after opening.
"Can not change Visible on onShow or onHide."
and
access violation on address ...
then I can interact with the main window (start game), but no maps or bots load and I can't see any of the tabs at the top.

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #169 on: April 25, 2007, 04:59:09 pm »
mm.. now it pops up with 2 errors after opening.
"Can not change Visible on onShow or onHide."
and
access violation on address ...
then I can interact with the main window (start game), but no maps or bots load and I can't see any of the tabs at the top.

try turning on video compatability in soldat.ini

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #170 on: April 25, 2007, 07:52:12 pm »
Open winecfg and go to the audio tab. Select ALSA.
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?

Offline iDante

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #171 on: April 25, 2007, 10:00:42 pm »
ah yes, now its working. Thanks for the help.
Is it just me or is the whole thing sluggish? My frame rate is 70-80 but it just seems slow to me...

Offline jrgp

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 5033
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #172 on: April 25, 2007, 11:16:48 pm »
ah yes, now its working. Thanks for the help.
Is it just me or is the whole thing sluggish? My frame rate is 70-80 but it just seems slow to me...
Is Beryl currently running? If it is, close it.

The only problem I had with Soldat on Ubuntu was when I clicked, the click would sometimes not register, so I would have to click again and then it would register. This caused using the AK-74 to be really annoying as I could not fire as fast.
There are other worlds than these

Offline iDante

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1966
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #173 on: April 25, 2007, 11:18:51 pm »
Yes I noticed that too, and AK is my weapon. W/E I'll get used to it.

Offline n2j3

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • soldat.gr
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #174 on: April 26, 2007, 04:19:16 am »
C'mon guys, the main reason I still have windows installed on my box is Soldat. Make it happen!

p.s. willing to report Wine vs Soldat bugs etc. although it's a process I'm not that familiar with.

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #175 on: April 26, 2007, 02:58:29 pm »
n2j3: Soldat works almost flawlessly in Linux, give it a try.

Guys, make sure you are starting Soldat like so:

WINEDEBUG=-all wine 'C:/Soldat/Soldat.exe'

That wine debug part suppresses the terminal from spitting errors, and speeds up the game quite a bit.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 08:24:39 am by Stealth »
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6144
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #176 on: April 26, 2007, 03:39:29 pm »
n2j3: Soldat works almost flawlessly in Linux, give it a try.

Guys, make sure you are starting Soldat like so:

WINEDEBUG=-all wine 'C:/Soldat/Soldat/exe'

That wine debug part suppresses the terminal from spitting errors, and speeds up the game quite a bit.
I'm guessing you meant
WINEDEBUG=-all wine 'C:/Soldat/Soldat.exe'

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #177 on: April 27, 2007, 08:24:54 am »
Oops, yes, that's what I meant.  ;D
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?

Offline sqweek

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 13
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #178 on: April 30, 2007, 12:41:24 am »
Hey guys, my fonts are doing weird shit in 1.4 and the more text that's on the screen the less fps i get. Text is readable but seems to flicker between different sizes and attributes. Any ideas, or other 1.4 experiences?

Offline Stealth

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • Just Deserts...
Re: Soldat on Linux Systems
« Reply #179 on: April 30, 2007, 07:13:23 am »
Yea, I was glad to see 1.4 worked in WINE, but notice quite the frame loss when I "upped" the resolution, despite it not actually changing. EDIT: Forgot this is registered version only, I haven't applied that on my Linux install yet.

I'm gonna try some different configurations today, and see what happens.

Fullscren however, completely crashed my Ubuntu.  :o
« Last Edit: April 30, 2007, 08:17:01 am by Stealth »
Soldat on Linux: It does work! Need help?