Author Topic: Mod stealing  (Read 7593 times)

Offline Mangled*

• Flagrunner
  • Never Wrong
Mod stealing
« on: August 18, 2007, 01:29:44 pm »
So what really annoys me is where some complete newb posts a mod... and it's just an accumilation of other peoples content put together badly.

That's not a mod... that's a f*cking waste of space.

I mean.. it's fine if someone asks permission before reusing content.. But even if you're colouring in someone elses outlines without permission.. that's still just lazy and in my mind it's still theft.

So what can be done? Because it annoys the hell out of me to see peoples hard work just being thrown together and passed off as someone elses work.. hell, it's happened to me twice and I've only made one mod so far.

I propose forming a list of 'approved modders' who essentially have no history of it and make all of their mods from scratch (which is how I think every true modder should work)

and of course then only approved modders would have their mods featured in the 1.4 mod archive

So yeah... this is just an idea really..

Thoughts?
"There she lusted after her lovers, whose genitals were like those of donkeys and whose emission was like that of horses." - Ezekiel 23:20

Offline Will

• Flagrunner
Re: Mod stealing
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2007, 01:34:42 pm »
I have to admit, I've done some such things, but I always asked permission, and credited teh authors if I couldn't contact them. Meh, it's better if you haven't seen my noobish beginnings on soldatmods.tk. (in terms of modding) I think this is a pretty cool idea, but most people don't put so much work in their mods. Only really good modders with some generally aproved mod(s) should be in that list.

Offline Mangled*

• Flagrunner
  • Never Wrong
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2007, 01:39:01 pm »
I have to admit, I've done some such things, but I always asked permission, and credited teh authors if I couldn't contact them.