Author Topic: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13  (Read 106798 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2029
  • We can do better!
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.5
« Reply #80 on: December 12, 2009, 01:19:56 pm »
This is the latest? Previous version 1.5.0.1 it was!?
The latest polyworks yes.

Offline Fryer

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • Game dev
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #81 on: December 13, 2009, 02:01:33 pm »
New update - v1.5.0.6

Changes:
- copy and paste (ctrl+c and ctrl+v, duplicate is now ctrl+shift+v)
- invert selection (ctrl+i)
- new polygon types for Soldat 1.5.1
- manual type in transform works on everything
- collider radius can be changed after it's placed
- fixed a crash when loading corrupt scenery
- fixed selection bug with hidden scenery layers
- fixed keyboard shortcut for save as (ctrl+shift+s)
...PC vs Mac is like AK47 vs M4A1...
<DutchFlame`> i once heard running runescape in the background gave you a speedboost
<Mr> yes, it allocates more electrons, so there are more electrons available for Soldat -> they are streched less and it is more fluent

Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13 - AimMode - Aim practise gamemode script - Fryer's SoldatStream Mod

Offline As de Espada

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1493
  • Mapper
    • My maps
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #82 on: December 14, 2009, 08:52:26 pm »
OMG I thought that bouncy polys meant jump polys.
Bug: flaggers can walk normally on bouncy polys
All my maps | my latest map: SoldatX Racing Mappack
me making a map on youtube: ctf_FastMade

Offline Fryer

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • Game dev
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #83 on: December 15, 2009, 04:33:24 am »
Yes, yes... I know about the bouncy poly bugs.
I reported it at the bug tracker, but nothing has happened yet. :(
...PC vs Mac is like AK47 vs M4A1...
<DutchFlame`> i once heard running runescape in the background gave you a speedboost
<Mr> yes, it allocates more electrons, so there are more electrons available for Soldat -> they are streched less and it is more fluent

Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13 - AimMode - Aim practise gamemode script - Fryer's SoldatStream Mod

Offline As de Espada

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1493
  • Mapper
    • My maps
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #84 on: December 15, 2009, 03:27:35 pm »
now that's on PW, is it safe to use new polygon types for Soldat 1.5.1? (carved on stone?)
All my maps | my latest map: SoldatX Racing Mappack
me making a map on youtube: ctf_FastMade

Offline EnEsCe

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 3101
  • http://enesce.com/
    • [eC] Official Website
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #85 on: December 15, 2009, 08:03:00 pm »
(carved on stone?)
No. Nothing is ever in such a state until official release day.

Offline As de Espada

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1493
  • Mapper
    • My maps
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #86 on: December 15, 2009, 08:38:47 pm »
Nothing is ever in such a state until official release day.
thanks, I'll wait to use them
All my maps | my latest map: SoldatX Racing Mappack
me making a map on youtube: ctf_FastMade

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2079
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #87 on: December 15, 2009, 08:55:48 pm »
Fryer
Great job. :D

Here are a few comments:
- I think copy-paste needs some improvements. I and probably many others, are used to Ctrl+V being dublicate, so I keep pressing it instead of Ctrl+Shift+V. But because what you paste appears in the exactly same spot as the original object that you copied - you can't always notice that you pasted an object and you end up stacking them up without noticing.
Instead of pasting the copied object in the same spot as the original - how about pasting it in the center of the screen?

- Also, if not many people use Ctrl+D (deselect) - perhaps it would be better to have Ctrl+D set to dublicate instead of deselect. Ctrl+Shift+V isn't most comfortable combo.

- I have a problem with Preferences window, or to be more specific - with the way "More" button works (see attached picture). This problem was in 1.5.0.5 too.

- It would be nice to have a version number somewhere.


Offline As de Espada

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1493
  • Mapper
    • My maps
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #88 on: December 15, 2009, 09:47:30 pm »
I think that the pasted ones should come selected. That would let the user aware that it worked fine. I think that should not be pasted in the center of the screen or anywhere else, because now you can just modify and make tests and get back the older version with a simple control+v. I got really used to ctrl+v, but now I'm just pressing ctrl+c and ctrl+v fast, and it seems like I duplicated.

I use control+D a LOT
All my maps | my latest map: SoldatX Racing Mappack
me making a map on youtube: ctf_FastMade

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2079
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #89 on: December 15, 2009, 10:03:33 pm »
I think that the pasted ones should come selected. That would let the user aware that it worked fine.
AFAIK, they do come selected when you paste.
The problem is - if it pasted on one end of the map and you're looking at the other end - you won't notice that you pasted something on top of existing objects. At least that's exactly what happened to me a lot of times.
Normally if you copy something - you want to paste it somewhere else, not on top of existing objects. Therefore it'd be much more useful if it appears right in front of you, instead of having to zoom out, look where it pasted and then drag it all the way to where you want to put it.

There could be 2 kinds of "paste", like in Adobe Flash - "Paste", which pastes the object in the center of the screen, and "Paste in place" which pastes the object into the same spot where it was copied from.

Ctrl+Shift+V isn't too bad, though it'd be nice to have the keys modifiable somehow.

How does that sound:
Ctrl+V = paste
Ctrl+Shift+V = paste in place
Ctrl+X or Ctrl+Alt+D = Dublicate
« Last Edit: December 15, 2009, 10:21:12 pm by L[0ne]R »

Offline As de Espada

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1493
  • Mapper
    • My maps
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #90 on: December 15, 2009, 10:15:27 pm »
I see your problem
ctrl+x = cut xD
All my maps | my latest map: SoldatX Racing Mappack
me making a map on youtube: ctf_FastMade

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2079
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #91 on: December 15, 2009, 10:19:36 pm »
I see your problem
ctrl+x = cut xD
Yeah, but it's not used in polyworks... or is it? *checked* No it isn't.
But I agree, having Ctrl+X as "dublicate" can be confusing and just doesn't seem right. :S Let's save it for actual "Cut" feature.

Ctrl+R = deselect (Reset selection?)
Ctrl+D = dublicate? :D
« Last Edit: December 15, 2009, 10:21:47 pm by L[0ne]R »

Offline As de Espada

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1493
  • Mapper
    • My maps
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #92 on: December 16, 2009, 12:54:38 am »
I think that is more common to paste on your screen, so I canged the shift there

Ctrl+Shift+V = paste _ _ _ _ _(original position)
Ctrl+V = paste in place _ _ _  (center of the screen) //plz fryer
Ctrl+R = deselect all _ _ _ _ _(reset selection)
Ctrl+D = duplicate

seems good, I hope that most of the mappers agree
All my maps | my latest map: SoldatX Racing Mappack
me making a map on youtube: ctf_FastMade

Offline Fryer

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • Game dev
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #93 on: December 16, 2009, 10:31:07 am »
Okay, how about this:

Ctrl+V - Paste (a bit to the right)
Ctrl+Shift+V - Paste in place
Ctrl+Alt+V - Paste in center
Ctrl+D - Duplicate
Ctrl+X - Cut
Esc - Deselect

- I have a problem with Preferences window, or to be more specific - with the way "More" button works (see attached picture). This problem was in 1.5.0.5 too.
Must be something with your system setup, I'll look into it.

- It would be nice to have a version number somewhere.
Sure.

Thanks for feedback/suggestions! :)
...PC vs Mac is like AK47 vs M4A1...
<DutchFlame`> i once heard running runescape in the background gave you a speedboost
<Mr> yes, it allocates more electrons, so there are more electrons available for Soldat -> they are streched less and it is more fluent

Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13 - AimMode - Aim practise gamemode script - Fryer's SoldatStream Mod

Offline VirtualTT

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1026
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #94 on: December 16, 2009, 11:48:22 am »
- I have a problem with Preferences window, or to be more specific - with the way "More" button works (see attached picture). This problem was in 1.5.0.5 too.

- It would be nice to have a version number somewhere.

- try to set smaller font in skin ini, colibri for example

- you can find version number in file properties for PW.exe

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2079
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #95 on: December 16, 2009, 03:29:39 pm »
Okay, how about this:

Ctrl+V - Paste (a bit to the right)
Ctrl+Alt+V - Paste in center
Well, I think it'd be better to swap those two around.
Even though Ctrl+V does paste a bit to the right (of the original object, I assume?), it still doesn't solve the problem where you're looking at one end of the map and accidentally paste it at the other end. Especially if it's something small or of the same color.
And overall "paste a bit to the right" isn't really necessary. Dublicate already works that way and that should be enough I think.

Esc is a bit too far, so you'd have to let go of the keyboard and reposition your fingers each time you want to deselect something. Ctrl+R should be a lot easier to reach.

Yet another small suggestion: polytype list is currently disorganized and very messy. How about rearranging it to something like this:

-----------
Normal
Bouncy
Ice
Doesn't Collide
---
Lava
Hurt
Hurt Flaggers
Deadly
Bloody Deadly
Explosive
Regenerate
---
Only Players Collide
(Red) Players Collide
(Blue) Players Collide
(Green) Players Collide
(Yellow) Players Collide
(Flaggers) Collide
---
Only Bullets Collide
(Red) Bullets Collide
(Blue) Bullets Collide
(Green) Bullets Collide
(Yellow) Bullets Collide
----------

also, bug (was present in previous version too):
Somehow "recent files" doesn't always save properly for me. I assume it's because the file path is too long. Here's what it looks like in polyworks.ini and in "recent files" menu:

01=C:\Documents and Settings\Nikita\Desktop\(Games)\Soldat v1.5.1\Maps\Bouncy.PMS
02=C:\Documents and Settings\Nikita\Desktop\- Projects\Soldat\Maps\inf_SunRise\- P

I can load Bouncy.PMS just fine, but for other one it says "File not found".

-----------

Anyway, thanks for all the hard work. You've already done a lot to improve Polyworks. :]




- I have a problem with Preferences window, or to be more specific - with the way "More" button works (see attached picture). This problem was in 1.5.0.5 too.

- It would be nice to have a version number somewhere.

- try to set smaller font in skin ini, colibri for example

- you can find version number in file properties for PW.exe
Couldn't find where to change the font. :S
And somehow I think it's not the font that's causing it. It seems more than just font size issue.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2009, 03:33:33 pm by L[0ne]R »

Offline Blue-ninja

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #96 on: December 25, 2009, 04:13:51 am »
Suggestion: Make map collaborating faster and easier with a 'multiplayer' polyworks feature that allows two people to work on the same map at once over the internet connection.

^^^^^ HOOG-ASS PROJECT

No bugs to report so far, except a few relatively new maps failing to load in polyworks here and there...more on that later.

Offline Fryer

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 261
  • Game dev
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #97 on: December 25, 2009, 02:22:30 pm »
Online polyworks was requested before. Seems like some ppl are interested in doing it, so I'll put it on the todo list. (Edit: was there already) :)
As for the failed loading of maps... looks like it's some kinda difference in how soldat/mapmaker and pw handles files. Any information on that from someone who knows about delphi's file system would be appreciated.
...PC vs Mac is like AK47 vs M4A1...
<DutchFlame`> i once heard running runescape in the background gave you a speedboost
<Mr> yes, it allocates more electrons, so there are more electrons available for Soldat -> they are streched less and it is more fluent

Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.13 - AimMode - Aim practise gamemode script - Fryer's SoldatStream Mod

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2079
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #98 on: December 25, 2009, 04:12:34 pm »
IMHO online polyworks isn't gonna work well.. multiple people working on the same map at the same time - that isn't very common and would require good cooperaton which isn't common either.

Offline zakath

  • Inactive Soldat Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1224
    • Soldatladder
Re: Soldat PolyWorks 1.5.0.6
« Reply #99 on: December 25, 2009, 04:24:36 pm »
IMHO online polyworks isn't gonna work well.. multiple people working on the same map at the same time - that isn't very common and would require good cooperaton which isn't common either.
I have coded a demo back in the days with a "screened" mcedit so its totally possible todo something like that the usefulness of it is of course questionable.

#soldat.mapping - #soldat.inc - #soldatladder - #soldat.gather.nordic