Author Topic: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!  (Read 13596 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Shoozza

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1631
  • Soldat's Babysitter
    • Website
SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« on: November 22, 2015, 02:59:11 pm »
Hi everyone!

Another week, another alpha.
This time we focused on graphical changes/fixes for you.

Daaw remade around 100 of the 400 default scenery in 4K UHD.
LoneR worked some more on the interface.

Please host servers with different game modes to allow testing those as well.

You can find the download links at the end of this post.


Soldat 1.7.0a3 changelog:
- Added /reloadgraphics command
- Added compatibility with older OpenGL versions (using fixed pipeline)
- Added 4K UHD objects-gfx
- Added 4K UHD default interface
- Modified Compatibility setting to force OpenGL fixed pipeline
- Modified mipmap generation code for older OpenGL versions
- Modified renderer to respect Dithering setting
- Modified alignment for new default interface elements
- Modified interface image dimensions to compensate for alignment changes
- Modified converted title-l.bmp and title-r.bmp into .PNG format
- Modified removed old interface .BMP's
- Fixed minimap quality when scale interface is enabled
- Fixed incorrect Weapon being passed to OnPlayerKill
- Fixed map scenery is loaded from png files if they exist
- Fixed wrong scale for bonus overlay


Soldatserver 2.8.0a3 changelog:
none

Normal mode weapon changes:
 none 


Realistic mode weapon changes:
 none 


Map Changelog
- Added new map RR


NOTE: get the hotfix for the client http://forums.soldat.pl/index.php?topic=44072.msg525088#msg525088 as well (read L[one]Rs post below why). Direct hotfix download
Downloads:
Soldat 1.7.0a3 Full
Soldat 1.7.0a3 Patch (for 1.7.0a2 only)

Server 2.8.0a3 Full
Server 2.8.0a3 Patch (for 2.8.0a2 only)
« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 03:31:39 pm by Shoozza »
Rules
Tools: ARSSE - SARS - SRB - chatMod

Offline homerofgods

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2029
  • We can do better!
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2015, 03:02:46 pm »
Quote
Daaw remade around 100 of the 400 default scenery in 4K UHD.
Sick dude

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2078
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2015, 03:24:39 pm »
Sorry, I did an oopsie and forgot to include a scale file for objects-gfx. If you were wondering why flag poles are so stupidly oversized - yeah, that's why.

I attached a hotfix below. Just extract the contents of .zip file into your Soldat folder:


L[one]R, INF veteran
maps - remakes: inf_Warehouse ; inf_Fortress ; inf_(Sun)Rise ; inf_Outpost ; inf_Abel ; inf_Moonshine

Offline Petterkowski

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Major
  • ******
  • Posts: 96
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2015, 03:31:32 pm »
yeah lol. i was about to ask about this



Once more into the fray...
Into the last good fight I'll ever know.
Live and die on this day...
Live and die on this day...

Offline %%%%%%%

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 205
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2015, 03:33:52 pm »
Haha, flagpole-vaulting.

Offline Akinaro

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 749
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2015, 03:41:35 pm »
Dont get me wrong. I love idea of high quality soldat but 4k is just overkill for game like Soldat.

Its not game that would get any real benefit from this. 1080 would be enough not only to get awesome quality but to be good for more that next 5-10 years.

This resolution for that game is just useless. I know its somesort of future proofing but... Its still soldat.

You realize that good made graphic and maps made in 1080 would still look good on 2k or 4k especially on game like soldat.
4k is still hard to reach for average consumer for more that 2-4 years. And beside that I dont think that player of 2d game would use that res on this game even if he could...



You know that if we talk about better graphic for soldat im first in line to say ""yes!"". But problem with soldat is not resolution but... Overal quality of graphic and maps.

What is the point of 4k res if overal menu system, ALL maps, graphic of gostek and its system, weapons and animations are still the same...
And I dont think that in matter of next weeks you would remade all those parts of Soldat to fit to this resolution....

Offline daaw

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2015, 03:51:53 pm »
That what i was talking about ,.. more this high res is only slowing me down.

..well orginal idea still was like 3.5K
« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 03:58:35 pm by daaw »

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2015, 04:06:14 pm »
I'm curious about 2 things for this new build:

1. People who had invisible stuff (Puure i think?): is that still a problem when using Linear filter? I changed a bit the way mipmaps are generated when OpenGL version is 2 or lower. This may have fixed it (or not).

2. People who couldn't run the game at all (with netbooks and crap): does it work now?
urraka

Offline L[0ne]R

  • Soldat Beta Team
  • Rainbow Warrior
  • ******
  • Posts: 2078
  • need a life. looking for donors.
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2015, 04:10:09 pm »
Dont get me wrong. I love idea of high quality soldat but 4k is just overkill for game like Soldat.

Its not game that would get any real benefit from this. 1080 would be enough not only to get awesome quality but to be good for more that next 5-10 years.

This resolution for that game is just useless. I know its somesort of future proofing but... Its still soldat.

You realize that good made graphic and maps made in 1080 would still look good on 2k or 4k especially on game like soldat.
4k is still hard to reach for average consumer for more that 2-4 years. And beside that I dont think that player of 2d game would use that res on this game even if he could...



You know that if we talk about better graphic for soldat im first in line to say ""yes!"". But problem with soldat is not resolution but... Overal quality of graphic and maps.

What is the point of 4k res if overal menu system, ALL maps, graphic of gostek and its system, weapons and animations are still the same...
And I dont think that in matter of next weeks you would remade all those parts of Soldat to fit to this resolution....
Of course it will take a while, but it will happen. I'm already making progress on 4k soldier graphics and will evenrually get to sceneries, weapons and maybe even animations. Redrawing sceneries is a few weeks to a couple of months worth of work, depends how fast you are. Even 3 months is honestly not that long compared to how old Soldat is. Some of the newer maps already look pretty good, and with improvements to map format in the future they can be made even better.

When you say "a game like Soldat" - you're forgetting that Soldat is one of the best (if not THE best) 2D competitive multiplayer shooters ever made. It's a small indie game that's still played 13 years after release. Much less can be said about many indies on Steam that are much newer.

All things considered, I think Soldat has good enough chances to be worth the effort.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2015, 04:25:21 pm by L[0ne]R »


L[one]R, INF veteran
maps - remakes: inf_Warehouse ; inf_Fortress ; inf_(Sun)Rise ; inf_Outpost ; inf_Abel ; inf_Moonshine

Offline Shoozza

  • Retired Soldat Developer
  • Veteran
  • ******
  • Posts: 1631
  • Soldat's Babysitter
    • Website
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2015, 04:12:45 pm »
Akinaro: We can do the work once or do it multiple times, i prefer to do the work once. That's why 4k UHD which will be hopefully enough for some time.
Rules
Tools: ARSSE - SARS - SRB - chatMod

Offline MrHamsTR

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • One day, everything will end..
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2015, 04:31:47 pm »
A black tower with blue flag
Is there anybody can write script?
Good, go and play soldat ^^

Offline Hubiq

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2015, 04:42:54 pm »
Wow, I'm impressed!  :o Smooth 60fps on my shitty netbook! In 1.6.9 I had 20-30fps and huge lags! Very good job  :)

Sometimes I have a "white screen" when I minimizes game.

Offline daaw

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 54
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2015, 04:43:46 pm »
Shoozza: or we do it once most effective way, ... and i prefer effective

..i see we all have our own visions and predictions

Offline urraka

  • Soldat Developer
  • Flagrunner
  • ******
  • Posts: 703
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2015, 04:50:21 pm »
Wow, I'm impressed!  :o Smooth 60fps on my shitty netbook! In 1.6.9 I had 20-30fps and huge lags! Very good job  :)

Sometimes I have a "white screen" when I minimizes game.

Cool, great to know it works that well :) Does the white screen stay or does it go away after a bit? Is that with fullscreen mode?
urraka

Offline Bait]

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 46
  • I am the law!
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2015, 07:19:55 pm »
HD its so funny to revive soldat

Offline Hubiq

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 119
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2015, 03:32:24 am »
Wow, I'm impressed!  :o Smooth 60fps on my shitty netbook! In 1.6.9 I had 20-30fps and huge lags! Very good job  :)

Sometimes I have a "white screen" when I minimizes game.

Cool, great to know it works that well :) Does the white screen stay or does it go away after a bit? Is that with fullscreen mode?

Yes I am using fullscreen mode.

I have it:

http://i.imgur.com/sL6pPr0.png?1

When I'm on a server and I minimizes Soldat and next... I want to maximize game.

Offline Akinaro

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 749
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2015, 04:45:31 am »
Well I dont know what you did, but now again it doesnt work on Intel Graphic on my netbook.


Everytime this show up when I click something on game menu(cant even open game)

Its funny because on 1.7.0a2 everything was perfect. Stable and without any bugs
I tired to play with settings but still the same.


On Laptop with GeForce graphic its fine(but I had black screen again after first start, but as I said before its probably  because of moded drivers I use).


Offline CheeSeMan.

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 731
  • WOOT SLIPPERY PICKLES
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2015, 05:37:25 am »
Great job guys as smooth as ever =)
Banana Banging since summer 2008!     
cB. Cheeky Bananas                
#CheekyB.Soldat

Offline MrHamsTR

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 208
  • One day, everything will end..
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2015, 06:57:13 am »
A black tower with blue flag

One more plus, when map is changing on lobby, it doesn't occur automatically, you (I mean me) need to press connect button again.
Does it occurs only for me?
Is there anybody can write script?
Good, go and play soldat ^^

DarkCrusade

  • Guest
Re: SOLDAT 1.7.0a3 alpha release ready for testing!
« Reply #19 on: November 23, 2015, 08:28:22 am »
It's the same for everyone, and it's been different before. Also, if you do so happen to be pressing a button whilst the lobby downloads the content, you do NOT join the server again. You try to join "AAAAAAAAAA". :|