Author Topic: widescreen option  (Read 1699 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chutem

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
widescreen option
« on: February 03, 2008, 03:26:07 pm »
Basically, it would be nice if there was an option in setup to say wether your screen is widescreen, or not, along with some widescreen resolutions, I brought this up as recently I have got a new desktop with a res of 1440x900, and soldat seems 'stretched out' across my screen unlike when I used to play on a 1024x6768, the only solution I have found is to have it on window mode with a resize of 85% (making soldat fit into almost a 1024x768 space).

Once again, I think it would be nice if there was an option to make soldat widescreen in fullsize mode.
1NK3FbdNtH6jNH4dc1fzuvd4ruVdMQABvs

Offline Laser Guy

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1679
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2008, 03:49:35 pm »
ya and especially for me make a 1400 by 1050 resolution... dude, live with it.
Text goes here...

Offline Radical Terrorist

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 375
  • The Turr'rst
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2008, 04:19:02 pm »
People with LCDs just plain shouldn't complain or suggest anything about full screen. It warps the image as it gets bigger, and it can only go downhill from there.
Never take life seriously. No one ever gets out alive.

Offline Taz

  • Major(1)
  • Posts: 31
  • Flattery'll get ya nowhere...
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2008, 05:47:38 pm »
I would really appreciate a widescreen option because, lately, I've been having a problem with my mouse going offscreen and I end up clicking on the desktop or another window and it brings it to the front. It gets really annoying when another window pops up in front of Soldat in the middle of a game, especially when I'm in the middle of a CW.

Offline LtKillroy

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
  • Killroy was here
L'audace, l'audace, toujours l'audace

Offline mxyzptlk

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1493
  • The Panda Ninja
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2008, 06:20:11 pm »
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18188.msg208004#msg208004
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18495.0
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=15397.0
W00T search function.
So? it's still an issue, and one that needs rectified. Too many people have widescreens to consider this a minor problem. At the very least, add the black bars to the side.

"While preceding your entrance with a grenade is a good tactic in
Quake, it can lead to problems if attempted at work." -- C Hacking

Offline LtKillroy

  • Flagrunner
  • ****
  • Posts: 779
  • Killroy was here
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2008, 07:58:23 pm »
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18188.msg208004#msg208004
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18495.0
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=15397.0
W00T search function.
So? it's still an issue, and one that needs rectified. Too many people have widescreens to consider this a minor problem. At the very least, add the black bars to the side.
Well, to explain myself, in my opinion, if the makers of this game know of the issue, then further talking about it is pointless. If you think otherwise, proceed.
L'audace, l'audace, toujours l'audace

Offline Xxypher

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1319
  • Soldat Veteran.
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2008, 09:32:48 pm »
I, having a wide screen monitor, cannot see everything on the screen that I could if using a regular monitor, it gets confusing and I have a good amount of blind spots all around the screen.

Offline FliesLikeABrick

  • Administrator
  • Flamebow Warrior
  • *****
  • Posts: 6142
    • Ultimate 13 Soldat
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2008, 10:26:45 pm »
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18188.msg208004#msg208004
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18495.0
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=15397.0
W00T search function.
So? it's still an issue, and one that needs rectified. Too many people have widescreens to consider this a minor problem. At the very least, add the black bars to the side.

Adding black bars to the side is pretty much the only way to solve the issue

Offline -Major-

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1419
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2008, 06:14:11 am »
and soldat seems 'stretched out' across my screen unlike when I used to play on a 1024x6768

ooo that's some messed up resolution (yes I know he accedentaly put a 6 before the 7).

I can't see what the problem with running windowed is.....

Offline Gortaak

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 274
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2008, 09:05:32 pm »
Quote
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18188.msg208004#msg208004
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=18495.0
http://www.soldatforums.com/index.php?topic=15397.0
W00T search function.

I bet you would have told him not to revive a dead topic if he posted it in there. People cant win for losing on this forum. Someone makes a new thread, and people bitch cause he didnt use the search feature. He used the search feature and people bitch at him for necro posting.

MAKE UP YOUR MIND!

I personally agree, widescreen looks 10x better in anything you play. Im all for it. Or atleast customizeable resolution options, instead of the 4 or 5 that we actually have.

F12
Image removed, please read the forum rules. <--- wee i dont care
 -Grishnak -Insurgent -Atrophy


.:*DETH*:.

Offline Hershey

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2008, 09:12:07 pm »
Wide screen would be an advantage to see farther but not to see upward and downward like Full Screen.

Offline mxyzptlk

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1493
  • The Panda Ninja
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2008, 07:39:02 am »
Wide screen would be an advantage to see farther but not to see upward and downward like Full Screen.
It's been agreed that the way it would happen if it does is to add black bars to the sides.

"While preceding your entrance with a grenade is a good tactic in
Quake, it can lead to problems if attempted at work." -- C Hacking

Offline O.R.I.O.N.

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1710
  • Thunk-a-dunk.
    • Diseased Productions
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2008, 09:16:19 am »
It's more of a question of whether or not you really need widescreen for soldat. Which, to be honest, you really don't. Learn to live with the black bars plx.
To sum up my point: We had a multipage debate about toilet padding. (Putting TP in the water so you don't get splashed.)
And we still don't know if dead guys can keep a stiffy.

Offline Snow

  • Camper
  • ***
  • Posts: 300
Re: widescreen option
« Reply #14 on: April 18, 2008, 03:43:23 pm »
My new 24" BenQ monitor has 3 options for showing a lower res. 1:1, Aspect Ratio and Fullscreen. No matter which option I choose, Soldat still looks *beep*ier than it did on my 19 inch LCD and especially my 17 inch CRT. The CRT had the best, smoothest quality for the game. I play Soldat at fullscreen on my new monitor, which has 16:10 ratio at 1900x1200.

I find you get used to it, a bit stretched out. It doesn't throw you off. I, at least with my monitor, have the option of Aspect Ratio, which shows it at 1600x1200 size, with 2 black bars on either side. However, it kills my response time and the game looks even grainier.

So, I don't care whether the game is stretched of I have black bars on either side, I just wish, something could be done on the refresh rate and graininess on LCD's. Though, it may be my darn video card again, giving me more grief. At least, so far, I don't mind stretched full screen.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2008, 03:47:13 pm by Snow »
"Evil will always triumph, because Good is dumb." - Dark Helmet